We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot of great and healthy”
Review of Poke Makai

Poke Makai
Ranked #126 of 2,462 Restaurants in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Altstadt-Nord
Description: A pinch of Pacific, a splash of Asia, bright colours and SO FRESH: It’s what Poké is all about – a combination of sushi and salad, and a Hawaiian specialty. Starred chef Mirko Gaul and his team add a little piece of Hawaiian magic to each bowl with an unlimited choice of flavours, healthy and fresh ingredients and plenty of love.
Reviewed 5 March 2021 via mobile

A lot of great and healthy choices for a filling bowl that’s really delicious. The staff is friendly and does a good job. I visit this place quite often and it’s really good every time.

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank hydrated3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
excelsiorhotelernst, Marketing at Poke Makai, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear hydrated3000,

What a wonderful review! Thank you very much!

Rest assured that we have shared it with the entire team.

It would be our great pleasure welcoming you again once we are reopened.

Your Poké Makai Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2020 via mobile

My friend and I, me being a vegan and her a vegetarian absolutely loves this restaurant. It's a small little building that packs huge flavours and lots of variety into a good portioned sized bowl! Highly recommend!

Date of visit: December 2019
2  Thank mackenzieb365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PokeMakai, Geschäftsführer at Poke Makai, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2020

Dear mackenzieb365

Thank you so much for sharing your experiences with us! Your feedback means a lot to us and we appreciate that you have taken the time to share your review here with us.

We do look forward to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards

Poké Makai Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 November 2019 via mobile

Read great reviews of this place, went for a quick dinner last night before a show nearby. The service was quick though the place was packed. The food might’ve been good too, had we been able to taste anything other than the sauce. There was simply too much sauce in the bowl, to the point where the bowl resembled more of a soup than anything else. The sauce overpowered everything else and unfortunately, can’t say I enjoyed the meal much. Don’t think I’ll give it another try.

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank MissBlueinGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PokeMakai, Geschäftsführer at Poke Makai, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2019

Dear MissBlueinGermany

Thanks for trying our Poké bowls. Rest assured that we have already discussed your feedback with the team to ensure that such a "sauce bowl" won't be prepared again. We really appreciate that you made this constructive criticism and feel very sorry that you could not enjoy your bowl. Furthermore you are very welcome to share your feedback right away so that we can create a new bowl for you immediately.

We would love to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Poké Makai Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 September 2019 via mobile

1st a secret fact- Poke Makai is run by the Michelin rated Taku, it's even staffed by Taku's chefs!
The poke is phenomenal and they have interesting combinations and large portions. I love poke, but couldn't finish a small.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank BallardGirlForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PokeMakai, Geschäftsführer at Poke Makai, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2019

Dear BallardGirlForever

Thank you so much for sharing your experiences with us! We have shared your lovely feedback with the entire team. What a wonderful motivation to all of us. We do look forward to welcoming you back on many more occasions!

Poké Makai Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 June 2019 via mobile

I visit this little restaurant to change from usual offer of sausages and French fries. Me and my family (3 little daughters) founded two very kind persons. With patient and kindness they prepare 5 different bowls, very big and tasteful also the mid size. We all enjoy the freshness of the taste. A place to try in Koln!

Date of visit: June 2019
2  Thank carocci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PokeMakai, Inhaber at Poke Makai, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2019

Aloha Carocci,

Thank you very much for sharing your great feedback with us.
We are happy to read that all of you enjoyed our fresh and tasty bowls as well as the service of our friendly staff.

We hope to see you again soon!

Your Poké Makai Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poke Makai also viewed

Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Poke Makai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.