We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hessisches Landesmuseum Darmstadt
Save
Review Highlights
Best Museum Ever

It is a great museum. I grew up in Darmstadt and we always went to the museum. As my children have... read more

Reviewed 10 July 2018
Biene61
,
Colville, Washington
A relative small museum with a broad spectrum

After the museum was renovated, I have visited the new exibition a few times, as I like the... read more

Reviewed 25 June 2018
KarolinOtto
,
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Read all 161 reviews
  
Reviews (161)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveler rating
91
63
6
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
91
63
6
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews natural history modern art top floor great museum broad spectrum excellent collection few hours small museum fossils exhibits landesmuseum pit galleries german style
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 161 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2018

It is a great museum. I grew up in Darmstadt and we always went to the museum. As my children have grown, we continue to go there. Every time we go, there is something new to see. The last time we were able to get in to one of the rare exhibits. It was fantastic. The staff is very helpful and friendly.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Biene61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 June 2018

After the museum was renovated, I have visited the new exibition a few times, as I like the atmosphere and there is always something new to discover. With some things I cannot do anything eg the Buys-rubbish in the top floor, but there are really good collections of minerals, a collection of things that were found in the Grube Messel and wonderful paintings in a new, added partly-underground section of the museum. There are temporary exhibitions that change frequently too.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank KarolinOtto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 June 2018

Only a brief visit on my first trip to Darmstadt. The building is lovely and the museum much larger than I expected so could easily have spent 4hrs there. It's more of a 'classical' museum, the kind I remember as a child, whereas many these days tend to have interactive exhibits alongside artefacts. Will likely return.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank ZNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 May 2018

150.000 population city but very big, full of historical artifacts, new design modelings. You can spend half of your day in a quick visit. And see too many things. Also impressive for children.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank ErsanCanKaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 March 2018

Darmstadt is a very student city. But also when you will come here like a Tourist - you should see "Hessisches Landesmuseum Darmstadt", it is a very interesting place with an excellent collection - it was very surprise for me because Darmstadt is not a very big city!
Your day at the Museum will be very productive, rich in knowledge, you will see many great things. Also with Kids!
When you need a small break, you can also sit in Café Rodenstein - drin coffe, eat something sweet or a dinner.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank MagdalenaS1650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews