We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly, questionable cash only operation”
Review of AlexOase

AlexOase
Ranked #443 of 667 Nightlife in Berlin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Reviewed 22 September 2017

This bar is fairly large and is in a combining location in Alexanderplatz. It's a place that looks nice and it does have a lot of seating outside.

I asked a bartender for a cocktail and just mumbled something and threw a drink list on the bar. The drink list is perfect for stags and stagettes with sugared drinks. Settled for drinks without glow straws, fruit or sexually suggestive names.

When it came to paying, they don't take credit cards. Cash only. Ok, I can work with that. Asked to a receipt as it was a business meeting and he said no, he can't give me a receipt.

We left after a drink.

Thank ccriderYVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"opening hours are"
in 4 reviews
"berliner kindl"
in 3 reviews
"park inn radisson"
in 3 reviews
"pleasant member of staff"
in 2 reviews
"in tip top condition"
in 2 reviews
"seating options"
in 2 reviews
"alexanderplatz"
in 15 reviews
"euro"
in 2 reviews
Filter

14 - 18 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

We stumbled on this place after coming off the hop on hop off bus, ( of a word of warning that the toilets just before it cost 50cents and a guy sits by them and waits for you to pay... I have no issue with that but did have issue with how rude he was to some people ) . The menu for cocktails is really good and we decided on a gorgeous tropical banana one and had Currywurst and pommes between us ( which was quite a large portion ). It cost us about €30 all together and it was worth it, especially to relax in the sun

Thank Sonia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian S, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at AlexOase, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Thank You :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 August 2017

We came across this place on the first night of our trip to Berlin. We ordered some Berliner beer and food. We were pleasantly surprised. The food was fantastic. 10 euro for a big burger and beautiful chips. The waiter was so friendly and helpful. He recommended some places to visit in the city. Unfortunately i cannot remember his name. Ive seen some reviews saying this place is expensive but that is completely false. For a major city like Berlin, 4 euro a pint and 10 euro for a beautiful meal is not bad at all. It was a very relaxing places to sit at night and you are within earshot of the local street musicians to set the mood. AlexanderPlatz is an amazing place and Alexoase made it all the better.
Thanks for an amazing experience,

Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian S, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at AlexOase, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Thank You :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 August 2017

Our lunchtime experience was one we would never want to repeat. This is a great shame because from the outside this place looks attractive with its coloured sun umbrellas and handy location in the centre of bustling Alexanderplatz. Having found a seat we waited 15 minutes before a very harassed waitress responded to our desperate pleas for service by shouting that she was too busy and we would have to wait while she did "something in the kitchen". We didn't see her again for a further 15 minutes and in the meantime flagged down a waiter from an adjacent section. He gracefully accepted our order. Sadly the pain didn't end there. 1 dish arrived within about 10 minutes ( a salad) but anything cooked failed to arrive for a further 20 minutes. Eventually it showed up with the waiter apologizing that the kitchen had "lost the ticket" (personally I think the whole joint has lost the plot). The food was OK but nothing special, unlike the prices which were vastly inflated - 7 euros for a bottle of water? You must be kidding. All in all we wasted nearly 2 hours in this shambles of a place and paid 70 euros for some chips, burgers and a salad. Daylight robbery. Avoid.

1  Thank dlight42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

As we stay in The Park Inn Radisson Blu Hotel Alexanderplatz this bar is as handy as it gets being right outside the hotel Alexanderplatz side.
This is a cool bar ,eclectic seating ranging from conventional seats to deckchairs and hammocks and cool open serving bars of which there are plenty.
We were here a couple of times on our weeks holiday in Berlin ,we ordered Berliner Kindl Rot & Grun and on both visits drinks were served in tip top condition,it was just so nice being in such a cool bar that on both our visits was absolutely packed with a great atmosphere.
The price might be a tad higher but as I only ever visit this bar for drinks very acceptable in my opinion.
This bar is certainly popular and on both our visits and every time we passed this bar day or night was bouncing.
AlexOase is easy to locate in Alexanderplatz in an area that is really lively .
Opening hours are;
Monday to Sunday,10am till 3am.
A great bar in a great location and well worth checking out.

Thank Neil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AlexOase also viewed

 

Been to AlexOase? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing