We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
BMW GROUP Werk Regensburg
Save
Review Highlights
Well worth a visit; but you have a long walk

Went on the tour with some work colleagues and might not have chosen it on my own. I can now... read more

Reviewed 9 December 2018
Brian T
,
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Hallo John Got a new Motor

Worked at this plant on a few projects. Typical facility big imposing and full of technology... read more

Reviewed 10 September 2018
chillo2014
,
Tipton, United Kingdom
Read all 40 reviews
  
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveler rating
30
7
2
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
7
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews assembly line factory tour body shop interesting information our tour guide great tour motor manufacturing automation presses paint production technology cars steel robot plants
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2016

We hadn't originally planned on this excursion but we're so glad we did. To see the orchestra played out by men and machines in the creation of 1100 cars per day was really something. To see such beautiful finished products flowing through complicated processes so effortlessly was amazing. I don't think many folks wouldn't find this wonderful time spent.

Date of experience: October 2015
Thank voltshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 March 2016

We visited the BMW plant in Regensburg on a Uniworld Cruise in August. I was disappointed that no photos were allowed, but that was the only negative. Others have described the tour well. I will just add a few comments. There is alot of walking and also stair climbing involved. My husband had a bad back and he did not visit all the stops. For those with COPD or asthma who might be hesitant to visit the paint shop, there is absolutely no paint smell inside; they have an excellent HVAC system throughout. One does get pretty thirsty by the end of the tour but BMW provides drinks before you board your bus to go back to your boat.
I was amazed by the interaction of humans with robots. It is choreographed like a ballet. Great tour.

Date of experience: September 2015
Thank speedhist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 January 2016

Our small group of about 12 Germans and Americans prearranged a tour in English for Saturday. After a brief video and safety briefing, we were equipped with receivers and earphones so we could clearly hear the guide. First we headed for the sheet metal stamping and welding area where almost all operations were done entirely by amazing robots that moved parts, spot-welded and applied adhesive to make sub-assemblies. Then we saw these welded together into car "skeletons".

From there we had a short walk to the painting building where the car frames were immersed in several "baths" before having four coats of primer, paint and clear-coat applied entirely by robots. (A short video showed us the "baths" while we sat in a "theatre" with assorted automotive seats.)

Then another short walk took us to the assembly plant where we finally saw lots of humans putting together the cars on the assembly line. What was mind-boggling was how so many different car models could be coming down the same line and have the right parts show up for each of the 1100 or more cars produced each day!

Our guide was excellent and we were able to view operations both up close on the main level and up a few stairs for a birds-eye view of the happenings below. Don't miss this tour, but plan ahead, especially if you want a tour in English!

Pictures were not allowed, but their official website has several excellent photos and some interesting statistics..

Date of experience: January 2016
1  Thank globalmcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 November 2015

We took this tour as an option with Viking River Cruises. I can't tell you how interesting it was. We toured all the major buildings at this huge facility and saw all the processes for converting a role of steel into a fine motorcar. I would highly recommend this tour.

Date of experience: November 2015
Thank TexKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 November 2015

This factory tour was amazing. My husband is an automotive engineer has visited many automotive factories. This tour was so fascinating and informative. He said he never saw so many robotics and the fact that the assembly line runs 8 models at the same time was mind boggling. He highly recommends the tour for anyone in the area.

Date of experience: November 2015
1  Thank MartyZ836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews