We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$139
Priceline$139
Hotels.com$139
Travelocity$139
Orbitz.com$139
Tripadvisor$139
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveler rating
71
60
20
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
71
60
20
3
4
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 158 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2021

Room, 100% Second trip. To be bad there is a waiter that needs smiling lessons, but either the owner or her daughter are just inspired and service is just sublime. My home from home. Just LOVE the place too much!

Date of stay: October 2021
Thank Aija Héloïse P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2021 via mobile

Very nice hotel with value for what you are paying. It is in the best district in town and the restaurant is very cozy and old fashioned.

The room had not been renovated recently but very well cleaned. I strongly recomend this hotel for the unique atmosphere and the sense of old days. The service was also very good.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Z3262STcaroliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2019

This is our third trip to Heidelberg and our second time to stay at the Hotel Hackteufel. I have an earlier review but wanted to update the information based on our most recent visit. This is without a doubt my favorite boutique/historical hotel. It is much better than the overall reviews would suggest. I am somewhat puzzled by the number of reviewers who rave about the location and character and then give the hotel only 3 or 4 stars. Let's take a closer look at the experience.
This is not the "Ritz Carlton" but truthfully you did not travel to Heidelberg for a posh Five Star Hotel experience. You could have stayed in New York or San Francisco or any major city for that. You came here for the historical beauty and the old town experience and that is what makes the Hackteurfel excellent.
This small historical hotel has been carefully restored to offer comfort while maintain the authenticity. It sits on a cobbled, pedestrianized street less than 100 meters from the old bridge and 100 meters from the church. It is a short walk of three or four blocks to the funicular station that up to the Heidelberg Castle (or to the top of the mountain if you choose). The neighborhood is really a restaurant district with multiple small restaurants with outdoor seating within two or three blocks. The hotel is also close to start of many of the guided or self-guided walking tours. There is no location in the Old City that is better than this.
We stayed in room 12 which is a large room that sits under the rough hewn beams of the roof. There was a direct view out the window across the tiled rooftops to the Heidelberg castle. The bathroom was large and well appointed. If you choose to stay here you should ask for rooms 8, 12 or 4 (the Liselotte Suite) which cost a bit more but are well worth the extra money.
The staff are courteous and quite helpful. Breakfast from 7-10 on weekdays and 8-10 on weekends. Heidelberg is town that stays up late at night and gets up late in the morning so these times work pretty well. The restaurant is small but good if you choose to have lunch or dinner at the hotel. You should make dinner reservations as the restaurant is often booked up, particularly on Friday and Saturday. But remember there are many good restaurants in the area so you don't want to eat all your meals here.
In summary, I love this place (if you hadn't guessed already) and believe that you will too.

If you found this review helped you please don't forget to click the helpful button.

Room tip: Ask for room 4, 8 or 12
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank jm2hilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2019

This hotel is a find! Its perfect location is 300 feet from the foot of the bridge, 300 feet from the Holy Spirit Church and two blocks away from the Heidelberg Castle. It has excellent food and the included breakfast is outstanding! The staff is courteous and efficient, especially Isabel, she made our stay delightful. We highly recommend this hotel and look forward to returning.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Herbert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2019 via mobile

This is a small and lovely hotel in Heidelberg in a great location where you can walk to the castle and many other sights. Wonderful staff with plenty of suggestions. They were so helpful in getting a cab set up for us for our early morning train. They also sent us on our way with some food. The hotel has twelve rooms and very nice and clean. Highly recommend!

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank C7493NTtracyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews