We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally the real deal!”
Review of Schwarzwaldstube

Schwarzwaldstube
Ranked #1 of 42 Restaurants in Baiersbronn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$68 - US$255
Cuisines: European, French, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The taste experiences at restaurant Schwarzwaldstube have made Hotel Traube Tonbach one of Europe's best places when it comes to cooking. Head chef Torsten Michel is a master of flavours, his compositions create an incredibly light and perfect cuisine – delicate, intense, full-flavoured and delicious at the same time. Sommelier Stéphane Gass pairs each course with a subtle wine from Traube's outstanding cellar.
Reviewed 11 April 2018

Basic food taken to the next level! From Maultaschen über grüne Sosse to Kalbsrahmgulasch. Absolutely to die for

Thank Tj_92270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieFinkbeiner, Inhaber at Schwarzwaldstube, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear guest,

thank your for this nice recommendation.

Kind Regards
Finkbeiner Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 332 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

With my wife we were lucky to dine at some of the most distinctive and finest Michelin star rated restaurants in Europe. Needless to say that we were anxious to visit this place as well. After all Harald Wohlfahrt is the most often Michelin 3 star decorated chef in Germany even though his second Torsten Michel succeeded him by now.

The result is simply “delicious” in every sense of the word. This restaurant greets you warmly with a cozy atmosphere. Nicely fitted in a Black Forest decoration the restaurant is small and very charming.

From a service level perspective, being in Germany you would normally expect a heavily disciplined army of waiters and sommelier where everything looks orchestrated almost artificially to a level of perfection and where you would still feel some cold distance. Well the result is completely different : still a superb perfection is being achieved but thanks to a young team of waiters, sommelier and maître d’hôtel that make you feel very welcome but all of this still with a level of great discipline and warmth in the service.

It is almost as if you would be invited to a select dinner event by a family member who has not seen you in years and who is willing to go out its way to make you feel comfortable and to impress you in every single aspect of being a host. Around 10pm the kids club closed and we were even invited to take the boys to our table without any kind of disturbing look or impression. It is worth noting this that families are simply welcome here as well.

From a food perspective, I am still looking for the mistake or hiccup but simply cannot find it. All scents and flavors are nicely combined to strike a delicate balance that eventually triggers a fabulous explosion in your mouth.

It is certainly not the most innovative cuisine we have tasted yet (but we did not come to this place for that!) but it is as far as I can recollect the best dishes we ever tried!!!

I will intentionally not comment on any particular dish but will simply say that if you go for the langoustine, the lotte or the lobster, you will seal your own doom of having to go back there time and time again as your palette will firmly remind you on a regular basis of what a fantastic experience this has been.

Prices are very high, but this comes to no surprise in such a fine restaurant. The wine list is superb and prices slightly below my expectations for such a fine dining place.

Call us old school, but what we also like is that you are also greeted by the owner or the chef himself and in this place the owner Heinrich Finkbeiner himself comes to your table, presents himself and engages in a short but very honest discussion with you simply aiming at making you feel almost home!!!

We will certainly come back to this place, very hungry for more...

Thank Patoony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieFinkbeiner, Inhaber at Schwarzwaldstube, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Dear Patoony

Wow, thank you so much for taking the time to write this detailed and great review which contains definitely valuable information for our future guests. Reading through your review put a smile on our face and we are happy, that you enjoyed your visit at our Schwarzwaldstube that much. We are very pleased to hear that your dining experience was perfect. Satisfied and happy guests are the greatest reward for our daily work. Your words make us very proud and of course we will share your lovely words with Torsten Michel, Stéphane Gass, David Breuer and the whole team. It is always a pleasure to us when we meet the high expectations of our guests and to exceed them. We wish you a happy new year and we are looking forward to welcoming you in Tonbach again soon!

Kindest Regards
Finkbeiner Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

Pure bliss and delight! We celebrated a very special moment there and couldn’t have chosen a better place. The team around the new chef Michel is excellent, their delivery outstanding - from the first moment you enter to the moment you leave. Paradise on earth.

We had the ‘small’ degustations menu. Absolutely recommend. On top we chose the accompanying wines and had the pleasure of the sommelier explaining every new glass he served. The service is highly competent and friendly. You feel welcome and not stiff at all.

This is a place for your bucket list.

Thank Gabi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieFinkbeiner, Inhaber at Schwarzwaldstube, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Dear Gabi H.,

Thank you very much for this amazing review! We are very happy that you enjoyed your visit that much and that you were highly impressed by the menu and the service. Reading through your review put a smile on our face and we are happy, that you enjoyed your visit at our Schwarzwaldstube to the fullest. Satisfied and happy guests are definitely the greatest compliment to us! We will gladly share your wonderful review with Torsten Michel, Pierre Lingelser, David Breuer, Stéphane Gass and the entire team. We are looking forward to welcoming you in Tonbach again soon!

Kindest Regards
Finkbeiner Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 September 2017

If you are fortunate to get a reservation at this fantastic restaurant you will be in for a real experience.Like the hotel,this restaurant could not be better.The staff works very hard to make the evening perfect.Amazing food & wonderful wine selection at varying price points.The "Christmas Ornament" desert made me wish I brought my camera.The chef & owner visit every table.What a treat!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieFinkbeiner, Inhaber at Schwarzwaldstube, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear Joe B,

Thank you very much for your amazing review! We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time at our restaurant Schwarzwaldstube. Satisfied and happy guests are definitely the greatest compliment to us! We therefore gladly shared your kind words with team at the Schwarzwaldstube. We are looking forward to welcoming you in Tonbach again soon!

Kind Regards
Finkbeiner Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 June 2017 via mobile

Our evening was perfect, start to finish. The dining room is stunning. The staff are welcoming and pleasant. The food was absolutely delicious. The wine and wine service was lovely. We had a wonderful, fun time and enjoyed every bite.

1  Thank Chopstick224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieFinkbeiner, Inhaber at Schwarzwaldstube, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your wonderful review and your kind words. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our restaurant Schwarzwaldstube and that you had an unforgettable experience with us. Satisfied and happy guests are definitely the greatest compliment to us! We will definitely share your praise with our entire team. We are looking forward to pampering you again soon!

Kind Regards
Finkbeiner Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schwarzwaldstube also viewed

Baiersbronn, Baden-Wurttemberg
Baiersbronn, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Baiersbronn, Baden-Wurttemberg
Baiersbronn, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Baiersbronn, Baden-Wurttemberg
Baiersbronn, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Schwarzwaldstube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing