We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$144
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sackmann(Baiersbronn)
US$239
US$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hirsch(Baiersbronn)
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Engel Obertal(Baiersbronn)
US$424
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lamm(Baiersbronn)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bareiss(Baiersbronn)
Relais & Châteaux
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nationalpark-Hotel Schliffkopf(Baiersbronn)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sonne(Baiersbronn)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
Reviews (649)
Filter reviews
649 results
Traveler rating
504
90
37
11
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
504
90
37
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblack forestmain buildingair conditionedcomfortable roomsbreakfast buffetfive starworld classkids clubdriving tripfamily apartmentfinest hotelsimpeccable serviceoutdoor activitiesfirst ratemichelin ratedspoke good englishhotel restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 649 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2016

We had booked a table at the Bauernstube upon recommendations from friends in Munich. The food was great and the service was very attentive. We felt welcome from all of the staff and even received some small gifts before we left the restaurant

Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank britaBergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieFinkbeiner, Inhaber at Hotel Traube Tonbach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. What a pleasure to read that you loved our Restaurant Bauernstube. We will gladly share your lovely words with our entire team. We are looking forward to having you again soon!

Kind Regards
Finkbeiner Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

Can't believe the recent review complaining about lack of air conditioning- for goodness sake go to Dubai or Marbella and get all the air conditioned rooms you want, step outside your room and you will love all the views of sand and kebab shops too? This hotel is a gem! We travel the world and have not received better service anywhere- the owners are always around, we saw Mr finkelbiener Jr. talking to all the guests everyday- the breakfast was delicious and the staff there knew our names day 2 onwards- fresh flowers everywhere and unbelievable views, walks and trails all round. Spotlessly clean. Nothing was too much trouble.
You will not find a better hotel anywhere.

Ps yes it was hot during our visit, our rooms were warm but we very sensibly opened the doors and windows. Better than cold and rain but some folks will never be happy?

Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
1  Thank mattyjvh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieFinkbeiner, Inhaber at Hotel Traube Tonbach, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for this kind review! It makes us very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay to the fullest! Reading your lovely words really put a smile on our faces and we are so happy that you loved our culinary offer and our staff, too. We will gladly share your praise and cannot wait to have you here again soon!

Kind Regards from sunny Tonbach Valley
Finkbeiner Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 July 2016 via mobile

We arrived after a long drive from Heidelberg on a very hot day. Staff took us to our room which, when we entered , the temperature was well over 90%!! I asked where to turn on the air conditioning only to be told there wasn't any(and this is the middle of summer!) I asked to be moved to a room that was air conditioned only to be told there were none. After a long battle they moved us to another room on the other side of the hotel which was slightly cooler and would you believe in This day and age, gave us a fan! and told us to open the windows only we don't have any, just a door opening onto a balcony and you certainly couldn't leave it open all night.the heated towel rack in the bathroom doesn't work either! As for their food, average at best! It also took 20minutes to get the bill last night as apparently they were having problems with their system. Give me a break. This is not a place I would recommend to anyone and am looking forward to our departure.

Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
3  Thank cforcolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieFinkbeiner, Inhaber at Hotel Traube Tonbach, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2016

Dear guest,

First of all, thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. It helps us a lot in order to find out about the strengths and weaknesses of Traube Tonbach. We understand that you were wishing for a cool room after arriving from Heidelberg on a hot summer day. It is correct that our rooms (except some of our suites) do not dispose of air conditioning, which is not too uncommon in the area where we live. We do not have many very hot summer days in the Black Forest Area and usually it gets pleasantly cool during night time which allows for good sleep. However, we do of course understand that you were looking forward to an air-conditioned room and will think about ways to improve the situation. Furthermore, we are very sorry that you thought that our food was average at best. Usually, our culinary offer is what our guests love the most. Please be sure that we will inform our chefs about your remark. It seems as if your first impression of Traube Tonbach was not too good and we are absolutely convinced that we can do better than that! We would be very happy to welcome you again very soon! We are sure that you will love our gem in Tonbach Valley, too then.

Kind Regards
Finkbeiner Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 July 2016

We stayed here with a corporate group for 2 nights. We came from Strasbourg, arranged a shuttle service to get us to the city of Tonbach.
For a short stay, we had a very pleasant experience. the view of Schwarzwald from the room is excellent, all room facilities and amenities are in place - even with a small note about the sparrow!
the food and service were outstanding, selection of wines was good.
hotel staff are friendly, personal greetings during arrival and departure.

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank YunDwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieFinkbeiner, Inhaber at Hotel Traube Tonbach, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing this review with us. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is a perfect reward for our daily work to hear that our guests had a great time at Traube Tonbach. We will therefore gladly share your words with the entire team.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards
Finkbeiner Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed here Monday-Friday for conference meetings. Large comfortable room, excellent service with very friendly and attentive staff, high quality on food, and fantastic nature in the surroundings. If you want to experience Schwarzwald, it should be here.

Stayed: June 2016, traveled on business
Thank Gubbe72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieFinkbeiner, Inhaber at Hotel Traube Tonbach, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing this kind review with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It would be a great pleasure to have you here again soon!

Best Regards
Finkbeiner Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews