We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (713)
Filter reviews
713 results
Traveler rating
180
359
135
21
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
180
359
135
21
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river old town hotel is located minute walk part dieu place bellecour reasonable size spoke very good english breakfast is served bed was comfortable free wifi underground parking main station small room standard room within easy walking distance stayed here for nights
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 713 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile

I liked the room very much and the location was close to the city centre and the touristic places. The only thing that bothered me was the noise in the street at night. We staff was extremely nice and helpful

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank Saifeldemerdash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELDUPONTWILSON, Responsable réception at Best Western Hotel Du Pont Wilson, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
We thank you for taking the time to share your experience in our hotel during your stay in Lyon.
In the name of all our staff we would like to thank you for this wonderful mark you gave us.
Ou hotel is well located 5 minutes walking from the city center and 15 minutes from the old town, and 100m from the docks where you can have a drink on boats.
We hope to welcome you again for your next stay in our beautiful city.
Kind regards.
David, Front Desk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Super friendly and helpful staff. Very convenient location close to river. Easy walking distance to many great restaurants and markets. Rooms gave AC. Nice room with comfortable bed. Overall excellent value.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zevo86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELDUPONTWILSON, Responsable réception at Best Western Hotel Du Pont Wilson, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
We thank you for taking the time to share your experience in our hotel on Tripadvisor.
Your comments are very important to us they can help us to improve ourselves and try to give you a better experience.
Our hotel is 5 minutes walking from the city center, and 15 minutes from the old city (Vieux Lyon).
We hope to welcome you again for your next stay in our beautiful city.
Kind regards.
David, Front Desk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 October 2017

This Hotel is situated on the left bank of the Rhone (Part-Dieu area) in a small side street not far from the main road fronting the river. It is easily accessible from Lyon Part-Dieu Railway Station (the taxi fare was 15 euros). Our Standard Room on the 3rd floor, was of good dimensions (248 sq ft) with a full length French window providing lots of light, comfortable twin beds, small but good en-suite providing lots of hot water for shower or bath. There is a comfort tray, safe and air conditioning which was most effective in a warm September and electric sockets available for charging camera batteries, phones etc.. Breakfast is served in a small room on the ground floor and it was simply excellent. There was a choice of fruit juices, fresh fruit, cereals, muesli, meats and cheese, croissants, pastries, breads, coffee of all kinds from an excellent machine, hot water on tap for tea, eggs to boil, and a choice of hot food. There were too many other things to list, but all I can say is that it was the best choice of breakfast I have ever had in France. In the reception area there is a free choice of newspapers in different languages and the receptionists are very helpful. The hotel is well situated for a bus/tram services both from Rue Servient which runs behind the hotel and from Quai Victor Augagneur beside the river. The bus from Quai Victor Augagneur goes over the Guilloterie bridge direct to Place Bellecour on Presque’ile where are the shops and restaurants. To walk to Place Bellecour would be about three-quarters of a mile and take about 15 minutes, but it was helpful to us (elderly but active) to have the choice of public transport. All in all, this hotel proved to be comfortable and the staff very friendly. Our only complaints were (1) there were no drawers at all in the room or in the en-suite; our clothes and all the additional things one travels with, were restricted to a floor to ceiling cupboard with 4 shelves, situated in the entrance hallway, or in another cupboard with some hangers. The top two shelves depended on being fairly tall; (2) there was only one hanger in the bathroom for bath towels and two hangers below the basin unit for hand towels. This made drying the large towels almost impossible, so despite our wish to “save the environment” by retaining our towels for a day or two, we found it necessary to have fresh towels each day, which were supplied and of good quality. The management did say that the rooms were soon to be refurbished and that they would take our comments into account. It may seem a small thing, but whilst the lack of drawers may be acceptable for a stay of one or two days, it becomes very irritating over a full 5 day stay. In the hotel’s defence, it seems that this is a trend with a number of hotel groups. Although we enjoyed our stay, I think the correct rating for this hotel would be 3 Star as it really does need some refurbishment to bring it up to 4-star standard.

Room tip: Our room on 3rd floor overlooking a quiet side street was quiet and there is a good lift for easy accessibility.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mellelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELDUPONTWILSON, Responsable réception at Best Western Hotel Du Pont Wilson, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
We thank you for taking the time to share your experience in our hotel during your stay in our hotel.
In the name of all our staff we would like to thank you for this great mark you gave us.
Our hotel is well located, we are 5 minutes from the city center, and 15 minutes from the old City. We are very glad that you liked our breakfast, we always try to make it better by trying new product and have local product for fruits, bakery, eggs ...
We are very interest if you have any new idea for our breakfast.
In 2018 we will make some renovation in all our hotel and your comments will be use to make some improvements.
We hope to welcome you again for your next stay in our beautiful city.
Kind regards.
David, Front Desk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

Hotel has a peaceful location a short walk from river though we found most places in Lyon are easily walkable.

Staff friendly. Never had breakfast as cafes around are far cheaper.

Only negatives would be size of room. Very small. And there were some maintenance issues in the bathroom; sink didn't drain, shower seal broken so bathroom flooded when you had a shower. Lack of a towel rail or place to hang towels meant they had no chance of drying though were replaced every day apart from 1.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank GlobalTraveller26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELDUPONTWILSON, Responsable réception at Best Western Hotel Du Pont Wilson, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience in our hotel during your stay in our beautiful city.
We are 5 minutes walking from the city center and 15 minutes from the old city (Vieux Lyon).
Our 16.00 €uros breakfast have pastries are from a Bakery in Lyon, and they are made and delivered every morning. 5 Differents kind of cold delicatessen, French cheeses, fruits salade, orange salade, fruits (kiwis, bananas, apple, oranges...) hot plates such as : bacon, sausages, eggs, scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, fried eggs. Cereals : musli, corn flakes, chocolat cereals, light cereals. Dry fruits. Differents yogurt (actimel, activia, fruits yogurt, light yogurt, fruit compote. Differents patries : Pains au chocolat, croissants, pralines brioche, apple tart, bread, cereal bread. marmalade, butter, salty butter, nutella, honey... Tea, coffee (expresso, cappuccino, hot chocolate..). Multifruit juice, orange juice, apple juice. If you have any other suggestions, please feel free to contact us. We are constantly trying to improve our services, so we would be glad to hear from you.
We are very sorry that you had technical issues in your room, please do not hesitate to inform our front desk team, we will be glad to change room and call our technicians to fix everything.
Your comments are very important they can help us to improve ourselves and try to give a better experience to our guests.
In 2018 we will make some renovation works in all the hotel, we will use your comments to proceed to improvements.
We hope to welcome you again to have a second chance to give you a better experience.
Kind regards.
David, Front Desk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

Good location but overall disappointed

- no one told beforehand that the whole building would be cased in scaffolding
- a fire alarm went off at 4.30am every morning (for 20-30 mins too)
- the breakfast looked expensive for what is pretty much bread and coffee (not a hot breakfast)
- very noisy area (loads of refugees and homeless people hang out on the river bank a stone through away) - see attached photo
- close to river so nice walk along there to anywhere (nice market on Sunday mornings too!)
- mini bar expensive and contained no alcohol
- air conditioning leaked all night (kept me awake) one night and in the morning the wall and carpet where wet through

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank Olly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELDUPONTWILSON, Responsable réception at Best Western Hotel Du Pont Wilson, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Dear Sir,
We thank you for taking the time to share your experience in our hotel during your stay.
In the name of all our staff we would like to apologize for not been able to exceed your expectations.
Our hotel is 5 minutes walking from the city center and 15 minutes from the old town.
In July and August we had a facade work, this kind of works have to been done every 15 years. The workers didn't work before 9am, they had to stop before 4pm and they didn't work on weekend.
We are in a big city and we around a lot of shops (cosmetics, luxury jacket...) maybe one the shops had a alarm on the night because we didn't have any alarm fire for at least a year.
Our pastries are from a Bakery in Lyon, and they are made and delivered every morning. Our breakfast proposes : 5 differents kind of cold delicatessen, French cheeses, fruits salade, orange salade, fruits (kiwis, bananas, apple, oranges...)
Hot plates such as : bacon, sausages, eggs, scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, fried eggs. Cereals : musli, corn flakes, chocolat cereals, light cereals.
Dry fruits. Differents yogurt (actimel, activia, fruits yogurt, light yogurt, fruit compote. Differents patries : Pains au chocolat, croissants, pralines brioche, apple tart, bread, cereal bread. marmalade, butter, salty butter, nutella, honey... Tea, coffee (expresso, cappuccino, hot chocolate..). Multifruit juice, orange juice, apple juice.
If you have any other suggestions, please feel free to contact us. We are constantly trying to improve our services, so we would be glad to hear from you.
We are a big city in France and like everywhere in Europe there is some homeless and refugees and we cannot do anything for that except help them if we can. We are very near the city center and some noises can be possible like the neighborhood, cars, alarm from emergency services...
There is a minibar in the rooms but we are not allowed to serve alcohol but less than 5 minutes walking there is a lot a good boat where you can have a drink on the water.
Once again we are terribly sorry and we hope to welcome you again to have a second chance to give you a better experience.
Kind regards.
David, Duty Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews