We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (229)
Filter reviews
229 results
Traveler rating
63
113
39
9
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
63
113
39
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews van gogh roman ruins swimming pool nice star hotel st remy three star minute walk nice garden stayed two nights southern france bastide asylum sanatorium institution town paintings cereal
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 229 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2017

I recently spent a week at Villa Glanum while on a painting trip with artist, Leslie Fehling, and run by Jackie Grandchamps of French Escapade. What an ideal location! It's right across the street from the asylum (the Mausole St. Paul) where Vincent Van Gogh spent his last year of life and where he created many of his masterpieces. You can literally walk in VanGogh's footsteps. Moreover, it is within walking distance of the charming Provincial town of St.-Remy-de-Provence with its outstanding Wednesday market and wonderful shops and restaurants. But why eat in town when the Villa's resident chef, Joel, fixed us gourmet meals every night in the garden? Also nearby are the ancient Roman ruins of Glanum and the "Carrieres de Lumieres" at Les Baux-de-Provence. In addition to our lovely garden room, the Villa also has a great swimming pool for cooling off after a hot day of sightseeing. Also, the Villa is air conditioned throughout.

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 July 2017

For a July visit, nicely air-conditioned rooms! Rooms simple but comfortable. Nice breakfast included. Wi-fi service ok. Nice common rooms and pool area and gardens gives the place a nice ambience. Relaxingly away from the touristy hub. Easy walk to the sanitarium that Van Gogh stayed and some pretty great Roman ruins. Easy parking. Had dinner at the restaurant; the cook said they were "grandma's recipes". Excellent food. Only a 15 minute drive to Carrieres de Lumieres in LEs Baux de Provence....... one of the best hints I have seen in many long visits to France. I would stay again if in the area. English spoken.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 June 2017

When I first saw the Bastide room, I was a trifle disappointed, as it was a little rundown, although it looked quaint from the outside. However it turned out to be very comfortable. It was quite spacious and by the end of my stay here, I was loving it. It has excellent secure off street parking. The owner was so helpful with information about the area. The hotel is walking distance of the ruins at Glanum (one of the reasons I picked this hotel), really almost across the road. This hotel helped make our stay in St Remy such a wonderful time. It has a lovely pool, but unfortunately for us we did not get to use it, due to the weather turning a little cool.

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

A three star accomodation with small rooms and generous parking. The Bastide rooms are distant to the main road (quite busy and noisy). Unheated swimming pool, well kept garden. Did not try restaurant. 3.5 points

Stayed: September 2016, traveled on business
1  Thank P6237QPthomasf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 September 2016

The receptionist at the desk was very friendly and helpful. She gave us a good recommendation for dinner (L'Estagnol). Our rooms were a little tight but fine. Clean. The pool was great after biking most of the day. The grounds were pleasant. Breakfast was fine and typical for the area.

The hotel is across the street from the Van Gogh hospital (worth a visit) and close to the Glanum Roman ruins (interesting but rude staff). Reasonable walking distance to city center for the evening and dining.

A relaxing atmosphere close to places to visit.

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank MnNanook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews