We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Tonic Hotel Vieux Port
Nearby Hotels
US$229
US$182
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$211/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Staycity Marseille Centre Vieux Port(Marseille)(Great Value!)
US$73
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$91/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Alex Hotel(Marseille)
US$96
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$130/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$92
US$81
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$95/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$113
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Azur(Marseille)(Great Value!)
US$74
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Le Ryad Boutique Hotel(Marseille)(Great Value!)
US$83
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$96/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

C2 Hotel(Marseille)
US$210
US$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel 96(Marseille)
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$226
US$213
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (532)
Filter reviews
532 results
Traveler rating
64
165
146
89
68
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
64
165
146
89
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexcellent locationvieux portnoise insulationlocated hotelfish marketnice hotelgreat cityhuge bathroomclean bathroomthe air conditioningstayed here for one nighttwin roomrestaurants and barsshort staylate at nightbuffet breakfasttub
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 532 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2018

This is not a 4 start hotel as is claim for the staff. Maximum it is a 3 star Hotel. We passed one night there and our opinion is really bad. Even if we booked a room for 3 persons ( two adults and a baby) several weeks in advance, once there we received a room for a minusvalid person, which by far does not met the minimum of a 4 start hotel but 2 star. The matrimonial bed was inclined (not horizontal) so one has the risk to fall down while sleeping. The toilette was not well cleaned and in the duche there was a metal table (for invalid persons) which as the toilette still had yellow scab on it (NOT CLEANED). When we ask to be transferred to another room, the employer just tell us that that's is the best offer they could provide you and our claim was not accepted ! Even when the personal was not unfriendly I definitively does not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jorgemartgarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonicHotels, Responsable relations publiques at Grand Tonic Hotel Vieux Port, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear Jorge,

We do feel sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us in Marseille.
The cleaning staff is doing its best to provide a very high service standard and we are very surprised after reading your comments
We will check your room of course
When the hotel is fully booked, it is difficult for us to upgrade you...
We hope you do understand that.
We wish you all the best in the future; have a safe journey back home.
Kind regards.

The entire team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for one night after disembarking from cruise ship. This hotel has a great view from the rooms facing the main street. The location is perfect for shopping, restaurants, and bars in the area.

The only issue we had was the A/C in our room was not working. We informed the reception on our way to dinner, but it was not able to be repaired before we returned. Fortunately, the night was cool, and we just opened the windows.
, and we would stay there again the next time we are in Marseille.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonicHotels, Responsable relations publiques at Grand Tonic Hotel Vieux Port, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear Matthew,

Thank you so much for your feedback and thanks for staying at the Grand Tonic Hôtel!
The entire team is happy you had a good experience with us.
We will note your comments regarding the A/C and double check your room - sorry for that.
Have a safe journey back home.
Kind regards from sunny Marseille today.

The entire team.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 February 2018

absolute great location, with fantastic view on the old port, staff was very helpful, polite and professional. rooms we're fairly spacious and clean, but interior is poor and very tidy... this hotel and location deserves major refurbishing. I have been there out of the season, so buffet breakfast was very poor. young lady was there, telling us that unfortunately they don't have so much, but she get out, buy some eggs, and she make omelet for us... it was very kind, but overall service was under 4 stars level. without great staff rating will be terrible.

Room Tip: corner suits, upper floors, have superb view
  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank boris505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonicHotels, Responsable relations publiques at Grand Tonic Hotel Vieux Port, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Dear Boris,

Many thanks for posting this review and thanks again for choosing our hotel for your stay in Marseille.
The entire team is glad you have enjoyed our services and the fantastic location.
Also, we will note your comments regarding the breakfast and the renewal.
The hotel is not quiet young but it is very clean,well located and with a great staff!
We do hope you had a safe trip back home and we say bye bye from "the old port"!

Best regards.

The Grand Tonic staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 February 2018

We have stayed twice at the Grand Tonic Hotel Vieux Port now, originally because of its great location right in the middle of town. We have been back and would go again because of the very charming reception, the spacious room and bathroom - we had room 304 with a fantastic view across the habor. Wifi was faultless.
We thought the corridorrs could use updating and breakfast too pricey and went across the street to one of the numerous cafés, but liked the reasonable room rate and the way how something we had forgotten was sent to us straight away. We would go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view across the harbor
  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank platine05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonicHotels, Responsable relations publiques at Grand Tonic Hotel Vieux Port, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Dear Guests,

Many thanks for your lovely review...!
We do hope you had a safe journey back home.
Do not hesitate to come back, we offer great deals off season.
And reminder: the best rates are always on our official websiste!
See you very soon in Marseille then...
Bye bye,

The Grand Tonic staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 January 2018 via mobile

Well, yes the Seafood was aplenty-And very good!
It was "off season"- so not Too many Tourists....but it was The Warmest City in France.
The Grand(?) Tonic was in a terrific location, right on the harbour.
Our room was basic, with Very Poor Lighting. This was an issue every day& nite.
The hotel was clean, but few room amenities.
If I was to Return to Marseille- I would select a much better Hotel!
However, the city was diverse and easy to explore.
Some absolutely amazing points to This City!

Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonicHotels, Responsable relations publiques at Grand Tonic Hotel Vieux Port, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Dear Robert,

Many thanks for your lovely review!
I do hope you had a safe journey back home.
Do not hesitate to come back, we offer great deals off season.
We will note your comments in order to improve our services.
And reminder: the best rates are always on our official websiste!
See you very soon in Marseille then...
Bye bye,

The Grand Tonic staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews