We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A splendid find”
Review of Marie-Georgette

Marie-Georgette
Ranked #99 of 1,009 Restaurants in Aix-en-Provence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$20
Restaurant details
Reviewed 17 August 2018 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stumbled upon this restaurant off of one of the main streets and reserved a table for our last night in Aix. The service was bright and friendly (they even humoured our attempts at French!). The food was well priced in comparison to other restaurants and there are many delicious options on the menu. The salmon and beef were both delicious as were the desserts. Highly recommended!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank lukea623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 351 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2018

“Passage Agard” was named after Joseph Félicien AGARD.
Very active and prolific person, lawyer by trade.
This "walkway" under-path under 19th century building was named to thank him for many community activities such as:
- Salt
- main regional road
- train lines in the region
- canal water ways in the region
Prior to this, back in 14th century, 1359, it was already a stroll path for shops and trading.
Old sculpture retracing this time.
Of course, French Revolution had a toll on it.
Félicien Agard tried to create a full-size footpath way between the Courthouse and “Cours Mirabeau”.
Some opposition stopped his project.
Reason why there is, today, that very narrowing passage-way.
It is in this fantastic setup Marie-Georgette restaurant had recently (a lot more recently actually... like 21st century) elected to trade.
It is also the reason the trade name of Marie-Georgette is a "Restaurant-Comptoir" as it was (back in time) West Indies Trading companies.
The "Comptoir" qualificative means you can find many revisited dishes.
And they are great.
And they are in season, thus changing for your curiosity
One "missing" thou, is Eggs Benedicts, as in Australia and USA they are divine.
Will have to wait a little longer for customers to query and ask about them.
The list of Burgers is very smart and, although names are French, they are so much in tune with Burgers you had encountered in NYC, and we also encountered in California.
I went for a salad that was like a reenactment of a César Salad... without really being one, yet so nice.
Everything was fresh and crisp.
We (my wife and I) highly recommend.
They follow seasonal fruit to craft desert worth to stop by.

Well done the team.
We will be back...

It was memory lane of our 22 years living in Australia.
THANK YOU

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 924jld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

Found this place wandering through Aix. A bit hidden away but we had a very nice meal. Staff was pleasant and very quick. Both the veal Milanese and the cote du boeuf were quite good. Dessert was a banana coconut tart that was surprising but really good!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank LisaNYU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 May 2018 via mobile

I cannot ever recall paying 20 euros to eat a burger half the size of the bun, although it comes with a small house salad. The servers were very friendly to me, however somehow I feel like I was screwed when I payed le decision. Buyer beware!

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank BonVivant25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 January 2018

We've eaten here perhaps 4 times in the last two years.
The burgers are always cooked to the correct temperature and the sauces are varied and excellent. We love the frites here, but stick with the plain ones.
The main course salads are copious and well dressed.
For dessert, have the café gourmand to give yourself a taste of the delicious house made desserts.
Service is always friendly, but not 'American Friendly'(thank goodness).
A nice selection of wines by the glass, carafe(best value), and bottle.
It is possible to have lunch here without a reservation, but it's always a good idea to book in advance.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Phillycook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marie-Georgette also viewed

Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Marie-Georgette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing