We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise in Aix”

Restaurant Chinois Li Palace
Reserve with
Restaurant Chinois Li Palace is not available through our online partner for your requested time.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #170 of 1,010 Restaurants in Aix-en-Provence
Price range: US$17 - US$40
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Takeout
Reviewed 29 January 2019

We have been looking for good Asian food in Aix for awhile...especially Chinese dumplings (called Ravioli's here in France). I stumbled upon this restaurant on a back street off of the Place des Precheurs and it looked pretty. There was a sign that said that their specialty was Ravioli's and that they were all made in house. Lunch today was good! A pretty little restaurant and very clean. We had 12 homemade dumplings/ravioli's, steamed. You could order them steamed or grilled. 6 each of beef and onion and pork and chive. Then we split a Pekinois soup, which was listed as spicy and was. Basically hot and sour soup. After we split the Pork ribs - (travers de porc) with a salt and pepper crust. Very tasty. They have some beer options but only one wine option - a Kir. That would be my only complaint, perhaps there could be a better wine list. Service was friendly, we'll be back again. P.S. Wish we could find 'soup' dumplings in France, haven't yet!

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AixPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2019

I came here twice.Once in the usmmer and again recently in January. They are open on Monday evenings which is a good point. The food is of mixed qulity though. The dumplings are to be recommended whereas many of the other dishes seem to cater for "French" taste. I miss the "Chinese" flavour.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank k0pf0derzahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 October 2018

Few places open in Aix on a Sunday night. Fried dumplings were great, but... a chicken app that should have been hot was cold and actually full of small bones. A hot spicy chicken entree was also full of bones. Not sure if this is just the norm in France, but, it isn't in the US..just odd and lousy wine and wine selection for Provence.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank fredruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 June 2018

Had 5 days of French food so needed a change. Found Li Palace but was afraid if it is authentic. Worry laid to rest when we tasted the food, its as authentic as you can get in Sichuan only thing is the spiciness may have been adjusted to suit people not too use to hot food just need to tell the attendant to bump it up to original. Will come back to the restaurant again when I pass by Aix.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank PiiJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 June 2018

if you go to Aix-en-Provence and want to try some delicate Chinese food try this restaurant. The serve ravioli (dumplings) in many flavors, all wonderful and the chicken is prepared with art and gusto. Small, cozy, make reservations and go in for a treat. A true and pleasent surprise in Aix.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank borisa222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Chinois Li Palace also viewed

Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Restaurant Chinois Li Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing