We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Magic Oceans Dive Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$45
US$37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$58
US$53
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
US$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$31
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$38
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Balai sa Baibai(Mambajao)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveler rating
52
9
0
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
9
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdive resortflamboyant cuttlefishadventure tourspacious bungalowsdrinking waterboat crewmarine liferinse tanksin great conditiongreat holidaychocolate hillsswimming poollovely poolwon tpygmy seahorsessandy beachair con
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 63 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2018

A resort experience with a personal touch. The rooms (bungalows) are very comfortable yet the design manages to maintain its connection with the surrounding atmosphere and environment. I travelled alone, and was surprised to find everyone there knows my name. The staff (who were always smiling) helped everyone integrate with other guests and soon we all got to know each other and new friendships were made. Planning: as soon as I arrived I found that a detailed plan was made for me to maximise the use of my time. All in all, this is one of the very rare occasions where an establishment exceeded my exceptions, and it really isn't about providing expensive fancy facilities, but mainly about the attention to detail, personal connection and the sense that EVERYONE (from the resort manager to the reception team, instructors, guides, kitchen team, and even the drivers)... cared about ensuring their guests really do have a good quality experience.

Room Tip: The view from bungalow 13 (and perhaps 1 before and after) has beautiful view of the sea because it's a bit higher than the rest
  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagicOceans, General Manager at Magic Oceans Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2018

Thanks Wael,

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us.

Warm regards from the team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2018

Just returned from Magic Oceans where we spent a fantastic week diving every day in a combination of boat dives and house reef dives.

The resort has been designed and built to be perfect for divers. I can't recall a better equipped dive centre complete with so many rinse tanks for each part of your dive kit; showers, area for dive briefing, personal area for storing your kit and large posters of all manner of marine life so you can identify what you've seen on a dive.

Just a few steps away from the house reef and the boats as well.

There is a review on this site that says that the diving is expensive in comparison to others in the Philippines. Well - what you get is impeccable service. The boats (three of them), are spacious and really comfortable with lots of shade if you want it. The two sets of steps up make it easy to get back on the boat. They always have tea, coffee, water and fruit for the surface interval. We never has more than four guest per dive master on any of the dives. They are incredibly knowledgeable in terms of the sea life under the water and quietly bring your kit to and from the boat.

After each of the boat dives, Peter who runs the dive operation was there to welcome us back. So yes - it may not be the cheapest dive operation - but these things are worth paying for.

The resort itself is lovely. Clean, lovely planting and with great views. We were in bungalow 13 which had a view from the porch of the sea and the pool. The resort is quiet which is what we wanted; however each night it is difficul to resist the circular bar where guests can mingle with the dive instructors and owner.

The food is excellent and the Filippino dishes are well worth trying.

A special mention to Arie (sorry if I spelt this incorrectly) who very kindly took us out in the speed boat to get close to the massive school of pilot whales that the staff spotted off the house reef. Thank you!!! And also to Peter for putting up with all of our inane questions and for joining us on an early morning house reef dive. And to Leanne for guiding us so well.

So all in all - a fantastic resort, great diving and lovely staff. Thank you

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagicOceans, General Manager at Magic Oceans Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2018

Thanks for your great review.

It's true that some people compare us to cheap local shops. But we're happy that you understand and have experienced that we offer a different product all-in-all.

You were so lucky with that massive school of pilot whales! We still talk about it.
Indeed you spelt my name slightly wrong (supposed to be Eef :-p )

Warm regards and hope to see you back.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2017 via mobile

My wife and I felt well looked after at Magic Oceans. The resort is stunning: beautiful landscaping, pool and bungalows, the garden flowers pretty and dive centre well planned. The diving was not spectacular but it was good overall. There is a new jetty under construction to enable easier access to the dive boat. The boat was comfortable but not as well configured as others we've been on. No individual box to stow kit in making it more difficult to check kit pre-dive, ensure all is on the boat before departure and finally to leave kit in when between the dives. Food choice at the resort was good and set evening 3 course meals were very nice. The restaurant did however lack attention to detail on occasions, lost in translation possibly (e.g. daily overcooked eggs, breaded king prawns rather than tempora as on menu pork loin served rare). The resort aims were spot on and we heard 2 different and enjoyable evening talks on marine life from the resort biologist. Dive kit hired was all very good quality.

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Peter41sax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagicOceans, General Manager at Magic Oceans Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2017

Thank you for your review.
We will surely discuss your comments about the restaurant, and aim to improve.
We are happy that you had a great stay overall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2017

Just come back from a week at magic Oceans and absolutely loved it. The bungalow was fabulous, the site was immaculate with the grounds, pool and beach cleaned daily. But most of all the Staff were just fantastic.
Diving was varied and we'll run, the dive boats were spacious, clean and in great condition. The dive centre was spacious with an area for each diver and their kit. Plenty of room to get ready and big dunk tanks for when you come back.

All in all a great site and we had a great weeks diving. I would recommend this to anyone at any level of diving.

Room Tip: Bungalow around the pool
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank squill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagicOceans, General Manager at Magic Oceans Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2017

Thank you and hope to see you back

Regards,

Magic Oceans Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2017

We stayed in both the Magic resorts during the course of a three week holiday and both were superb. The diving was fantastic (certainly better than the weather). The dive team are great and the staff at both resorts could not do more for you. Both resorts are small and fairly remote so you spend a lot of time there, very relaxing. The boats are great and the diving is superb.

Room Tip: There are only a handful of cottages so you can't really go wrong. It was nice to have one right next to the pool.
  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KJP543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews