We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of L'essentiel

L'essentiel
Ranked #12 of 119 Restaurants in Saumur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$52
Restaurant details
Reviewed 17 September 2021 via mobile

We stayed in Saumur for 3 nights and dined in this restaurant with some friends. We all enjoyed our meal immensely. Not just the food which was delicious but the ambiance and the friendliness of the staff. Would definitely return when next in Saumur

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2021 via mobile

Wonderful wine pairing lunch, which I recommend as the best place to start your any trip. I learnt about the wine estates to visit and routes to take. The lunch itself was exquisite paired of course with the perfect wine by staff that loves what they do and easily go beyond what is needed to make for an exceptional experience! What a wonderful experience thank you!

Date of visit: June 2021
1  Thank Helga L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 October 2020

We had not visited Minestral since 2006 when we were disappointed and so had forgotten this lovely ambience close to the centre of the town. So thank you to CoupeColonel for introducing us to L’essentiel.

The Covid protocols on arrival were exemplary.

The character has now changed with a warm greeting and efficient and friendly front of house, but a skilled and knowledgable chef in the kitchen. We chose a wet October day for our first visit and ordered the Menu de Marche. The food is both delicious and beautifully presented. We will return before long for dinner.

This restaurant deserves to be very successful and so hopefully the people of Saumur will embrace it in order to ensure that it does not become another victim of the pandemic.

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank Rodger-Saumur
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 September 2020 via mobile

Having been disappointed both times we went to it’s predecessor it was a delight to discover that in its new incarnation this restaurant is truly excellent. Appearances have not changed much, but everything else has. The service was outstanding: friendly, efficient, just the right time between courses, but not constantly hovering. The food was superb, a short but interesting menu and all of my dishes were mouthwatering. The wine list likewise is extensive and reasonably priced. Overall, 3 courses and various amuses bouches, for two plus 4 glasses of wine and coffee, cost €95. Excellent value in my book. Will certainly be going back.

Date of visit: September 2020
4  Thank CoupeColonel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 July 2020 via mobile

Wonderful restaurant right at the foot of the castle...
You are accompanied by pleasant and knowledgeable staff through a truly pleasant culinary experience.
Great wine list and wonderful cheeses to accompany a well balanced assortment of meat and fish dishes.

The passion fruit soufflé is divine!

Date of visit: July 2020
Thank Plessis-Brit
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'essentiel also viewed

 
Saumur, Maine et Loire
 

Been to L'essentiel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.