We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (520)
Filter reviews
520 results
Traveler rating
147
288
56
21
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
147
288
56
21
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice hotelfront desk staff were friendlypubs and restaurantsroom was largela cigalecontinental breakfaststayed for nightsyogurtwalking distanceeasy accesshotel is situatedtown centrecityopera
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 520 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2017

Quiet, clean and new place. Someone at the reception 24/7, everything works and the price for value is actually very good. The surroundings offers everything Nantes has the best to offer: restaurants, cafés, nice little plazas, while still being quiet.

Room Tip: Choose a room with windows not on the streets
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CDFBologna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadine W, Responsable commercial at Amiral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017
Google Translation

Un grand merci pour votre commentaire qui nous touche beaucoup. Nous espérons que votre séjour en France vous laissera un agréable souvenir et nous sommes fiers d'y avoir contribué.

Nadine WITCZAK.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 September 2017

We have really enjoyed our stay in this small downtown Nantes hotel.
The hotel is extremely well located, very close to the main restaurants (e. g. La cigale), the shops and the Opera, and at walking distance from Ducs de Bretagne castle.
The front-desk welcome was very warm and charming.
Our room was quite comfortable and very clean with a convenient size good quality bed. The beathroom was quite large and clean.
The continental breakfast was prime quality with a very rich choice of bread, croissants, pastries and fruits.
A minor inconvenient only: the air conditioning was not in operation and, the window opene, it was quite noisy.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side can be quite noisy but, at higher floors, they provide with a nice view on the roofs.
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gianni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadine W, Responsable commercial at Amiral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017
Google Translation

La satisfaction client est au coeur de notre mission, et nous sommes fiers d'avoir contribué efficacement à la qualité de votre séjour en France.
Nous vous remercions pour ce commentaire qui a beaucoup plu à l'ensemble de l'équipe, n'oubliez pas de parler de votre expérience à votre retour, ce sera la meilleure des récompenses pour nous.

Nadine WITCZAK.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 July 2017

Stayed in this Hotel during a cycling trip in France. The Hotel is bicycle friendly and provides easy access to a nearby but off-site secure parking facility. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. The room was what i would consider "standard" European size but with a large nicely appointed bathroom. The room was very clean and the bed quite comfortable. Beware, however, that the hotel does NOT have air conditioning and had to be prodded to provide a fan. The windows open, but if you are on the street side, it is noisy. Request a room at the back of the hotel where the afternoon sun will not turn the room into an oven. Unfortunately, it is right in the center of all the noise associated with June 21 Fete de la Musique, which happens every year. The hotel did not provide any warning about this event and all the noise associated with it and seemed to believe that EVERYONE (that includes all non-french) should have known about the event. They were unwilling to offer any reductions to anyone (and no one slept) at check out. The breakfast is a full "European" style breakfast with plenty of bread, meat, pastries, yogurt, etc.

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bicycle_billSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadine W, Responsable commercial at Amiral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

We do have air conditioned, on request, in 25 rooms.
The night of the 21st of June, it's true, is the most complicated of the year, it's not our own. The "Fete de la Musique" exist in many country around the world now (World Music Day) and in France since 1982. We are in a town center in quite big city, so of course it's noisy around here. To reduce the sound effect we have hearing protections available to customers. That's all we can do for this special (and only one) evening of the year.
Julien (Collaborator Nadine W.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

Hotel took our bags after we checked out. Did not give us tags. One of the bags was gone when we came back to pick them up. The manager was extremely rude and dismissive. He never looked up from his computer to address me, never looked at me at all. Said while typing away that he didn't personally handle the bags, didn't see or know anything. He had the nerve to then suggest that there is no evidence that we left bags with them, that we imagined it. The staff apologized that they were too busy taking care of other customers to give us a bag tag. No security cameras in the hotel. Manager never came out of the office, never apologized. Terrible terrible response to a terrible situation. Do not recommend. Manager is a nasty person.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
7  Thank Lynn C. C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadine W, Responsable commercial at Amiral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

We're really sorry that the person you met in the desk didn't receive you properly. Two reasons : 1. He's not the Manager but the Administrative Officer and he does not manage customer relationship. 2. You came in his desk without authorization and he was really surprise. We understand, however, that you we're not in your condition, distraught at what was happening to you. For the tag, the receptionist was busy with many check-out in the same time and you didn't wait him for a tag even didn't wait him to have a look on what you left. It was a terrible situation for us as well, never happened (and fortunately !) in nearly 30 years. We will do our utmost to ensure that this does not happen again.
Julien (Collaborator Nadine W.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

It was good until we lost our backpack. Upon checking out, we were instructed to leave our luggages at a corner which is wide open. I always find this policy problematic, as anyone can come and take anything. But as normal people, i.e., not VIP of any sort, we did as told. When we came back in a few hours, the backpack was gone.
The manager was not helping at all. He insisted that there was no proof that the backpack was there at the beginning. We were speechless. How can we prove that as tourists? We were not given any tag when leaving the luggages, which is another problem (not our problem, obviously). There was no surveillance video, which also wasn't our fault.
Now, we do understand that the hotel might not be responsible for paying for stuffs we lost. We also understand that calling the police might not be practical. Still, as locals they should try to help. Or perhaps, they should at least pretend that they care. But no, they couldn't care less and they let you know.
We love France but whenever we come,we always worry. Paris is the worst for this kind of thing but other places are not safe too. And worse, many of them would not try to help. They would show the attitude.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
5  Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadine W, Responsable commercial at Amiral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

We're absolutely sorry that your stay finished with this theft, which is really bad and sad for you first and for us too. We're also victim of this act but not as much as you of course. It's very damaging and we are aware of it. It's the first time we have a theft like this in our establishment in nearly 30 years. We'll be now again more watchful and we already changed the way to do it : we do not keep the luggage at reception but at the back of the hotel and we'll advise our guests to leave it in their car in the secure "Graslin" carpark next door or in the luggage storage of the railway station. We have to say again that we don't have luggage room in our hotel. When the guests left their luggage they saw and knew where we kept it. To recover their belongings they give us a tag with a number we gave them before (we keep of course this good way to do it). What we can say in your case is that you didn't wait the busy receptionist for a tag even didn't wait him to have a look on what you left. When you came back the two receptionists did their best to help you, reaching the bag, calling all the guests to know if they see something or took by mistake this bag... Unfortunately nobody seen or brought back the bag, so we know that it's an intentional act. The person you met in the desk he's not the Manager but the Administrative Officer. He does not manage customer relationship and he was really surprise to see you coming in his desk without authorization. That's why he didn't receive you as he should have. We're sorry for this and we also understand that you we're not in your condition, distraught at what was happening to you. We have pleasure at the check-out to see our clients left us happy, so believe us that we kept a very bad souvenir of what happened to you. We contacted the other hotels to warn them of what happen to us, as well as the hotel union. Nantes is a friendly city, but of course it can be happen everywhere. We will do our utmost to ensure that this does not happen again.
Julien (Collaborator Nadine W.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews