We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,454)
Filter reviews
1,454 results
Traveler rating
931
426
74
17
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
931
426
74
17
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful hotelno elevatormain buildinglovely gardenwine and cheesemodern bathroomoff street parkingd day beachesprivate parkingthe hotel staffbayeux tapestryquiet locationwithin walking distancefree parkingnormandy beachestop floorstaff was very friendly and helpful
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 1,454 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2018

Location - Lovely location on the main drag. 10min walk to tapestry & museum.

Grounds - Amazing grounds in a restored mansion. Outside area was gorgeous. One issue I had is we couldn't drink our own wine outside. They said we had to buy theirs.

Room - Nice room, somewhat small, but that can be expected in an restored mansion.

Staff - The main staff was great

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JamboJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 August 2018

We spent two nights and our room was not in the main building but adjacent. Room was newly furnished but small and overlooked the car park. The bathroom ventilation would suddenly go off and stay on for an hour, not nice when you are sleeping! Bathroom has automatic lighting so if you sit on toilet to long it WILL switch off.
No wardrobe to hang up clothes or place a second suitcase.
Breakfast is basic and had to wait for croissants and coffee to be brought in.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank GinaLoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyRopartz, Propriétaire at Hotel d'Argouges, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Gina,

Thank you very much for choosing Hotel d'Argouges during your stay in Bayeux.
We are truly sorry if our hotel didn't meet your expectations.
Regarding to wardrobe, we are very surprised as all the rooms have closets with hangers and luggage carriers.
In regards with the bathroom light, you requested a room with wheelchair facilities so this is why the bathroom light has a sensor in order to make it easier for our guests.
Breakfast is a full hot and cold buffet, scramble eggs, sausages, bacon, charcuteries, cheeses, cereals, pastries, yogurts, fresh fruits as well as croissant and pain au chocolat so, once again, we are sorry if the buffet didn't meet your expectations but we thank you very much for your feedback which will help us us to improve our services.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 August 2018

Although my wife and I had been to France four times, we had never been able to fit in a tour of the D-Day beaches and museums. We scheduled a trip to Bayeux in April and allowed five days to visit the D-Day sites, the Bayeux tapestry, and other locations in Normandy. After researching options on Trip Advisor, we selected the Hotel d'Argouges mainly because of its historical ambience and reasonable rates. We chose a superior double room for 163 euros/night believing that would be sufficiently large for the two of us. We also requested a room on the first floor facing the garden. The room we were given was a total disappointment. First, it was on the third floor, and there is no elevator. Second, it was the starkest and smallest room we have stayed in since we started traveling to Europe years ago. The furnishings consisted on one double bed, one single cot pushed up against the wall, a desk and chair, and virtually no storage space. Incredibly bleak. I complained to the front desk and they said they would move us, but not until after the third night. To their credit, they did move us to a very nice 2-room apartment with a fireplace and plenty of storage space, and even took care of transferring our luggage. The hotel is located just outside the business district (i.e., main street) and a 15-20 minute walk to restaurants, museum, shuttle departure area, and church. There is a farmers market across the street on Saturdays which is fun and interesting. The staff is friendly and helpful and will gladly assist you with your bags. And while they have brochures available advertising D-Day tours, I would recommend you schedule your own on line. As mentioned, there is no elevator and no air conditioning. The breakfast is limited, but the service and view of the garden from the dining area are both quite nice. There is no full service restaurant in the hotel, but some nice restaurants downtown (our favorite was Le Pommier). If taking the D-Day tour, the Bayeux Shuttle is highly recommended (ask for guide Lloyd Scott - he's fantastic). While the Hotel d'Argouges was certainly adequate for our needs, I believe I would choose a more centrally located (albeit more expensive) hotel for a return trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the garden
  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beachpeople41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 August 2018

We instantly fell in love with this hotel. We initially chose it because of its proximity to the Normandy beaches, but after having such a fabulous experience, we would stay there again in an eye blink! Louise and Caroline, the front desk staff, are as professional and helpful as possible; they are skilled at making one feel extremely special. A real plus was the fact that they were able to recommend to us a driver service, which picked us up upon arrival at the airport in Paris, as well as drove us to our cruise ship terminal several days later. It saved us from having to rent a car and navigate unfamiliar roads when we were exhausted and jet-lagged. Our room was adorable and comfortable, and we loved opening the windows at night to catch the beautiful breeze, look at the moon, and wake to the sounds of birds in the morning. The bathroom is modern and fairly spacious. A truly romantic and charming plus at this hotel is the garden in the rear of the main building; sipping coffee or wine amongst the gorgeous roses, other flowers, birds, and trees is completely relaxing and feels very European. The town of Bayeux is beautiful; it's clean, friendly, and offers many restaurant choices.

Thank you, to the entire staff at Hotel d'Argouges, for making our stay in Bayeux truly memorable and special!!

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AllieoNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 August 2018

We recently visited the Normandy area and stayed in Bayeux. We choose Hotel d'Argouges because it was centrally located in the beautiful village. We could walk and enjoy the museums, cathedrals, stores, and restaurants. The hotel was an old manor house turned into a hotel. It was well maintained, especially the garden and patio area out back. All the rose bushes were in bloom and quite lovely in the evening after dinner in town. The rooms were very comfortable, and the breakfast buffet was delicious with prompt service for beverages. The staff was extremely helpful with dinner suggestions and helping with reservations. We highly recommend this beautiful property for your vacation in Normandy. Bayeux is a great location for D-Day beaches, Mont St. Michelle, and coastal towns north and south. We would most definitely stay at Hotel d'Argouges again and will certainly recommend it to friends.
Thank you to the wonderful staff and owner of this outstanding property, you helped to make our vacation magical!
The Hughes and May Families

Stayed: June 2018, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ellyshey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews