We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
18th Arrondissement
Save
Review Highlights
Home of Sacre Coeur and cabarets

This arrondissement is best known for the Montmartre hill on top of which is the fab Sacre Couer... read more

Reviewed 26 January 2020
B1714D
,
Belgrade, Serbia
Lovely area

We mainly visited the Montmartre district, but also wandered around the surrounding areas. There... read more

Reviewed 23 September 2020
Dimitris L
,
Sydney, Australia
Read all 130 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Paris
from US$106.62
More Info
from US$20.14
More Info
from US$88.85
More Info
from US$117.29
More Info
Reviews (130)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveler rating
63
42
21
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
63
42
21
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sacre coeur moulin rouge working class neighborhood small winding streets barbes basilica artists immigrants neighborhoods metro
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 130 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2015

I love this area and it has lots of little streets to explore.
Also the film Amelie was set in this arrondissement and you can wander about looking for the places featured including the Cafe des deux Moulins and Maison Colignon grocery store.

Date of experience: August 2015
1  Thank Taxidevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 August 2015

For my third trip to Paris, I selected Montmartre in the 18th arrondissement because its description sounded a lot like Greenwich Village in New York in my guide book, and I was right. Hipsters and artists fit right in with the multi-cultural area, which has its own personality and vibe, as well as friendliness. I stayed in Plug-Inn Boutique Hostel on rue Aristride (which I reviewed for TripAdvisor as "The Ritz of Hostels") and ate 5 times at Le Basilic, a 5-star restaurant in my opinion (which I also reviewed for TripAdvisor). There are plenty of restaurants, hostels, markets and shops in a very small radius, and I was between Abbesse and Blanche Metro stops. Worst case scenario, if you were snowed in here, you would have no problem surviving for a long time, since everything you need is so close by.

Date of experience: November 2014
2  Thank elsaf439
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 June 2015

Most people know about Montmartre: the Sacre Coeur basilica, Place du Tertre, rue des Abesses, the Moulin Rouge, Place Pigalle and the cimetière Montmartre. This are historical sites known for its bohemian life in the past and where many artists lived in a village-like atmosphere.

Today, this area has changed. Montmartre has become very touristic. But a large part of the area is now home of a large population with Arabic or African roots. They brought their traditions and lifestyle, which has created a very lively multi-ethnic area.

Finally, the Marché Saint area is a section between the Sacre Coeur and Place Pigalle where shops sells all kinds of fabric for clothing and interior design.

The easiest is to start the visit with going to the Sacre Coeur basilica first, and then go down to the rest of the neighborhood. Otherwise, the climb may be a little stiff if you are not in good physical shape.

Date of experience: January 2015
Thank sipivu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 May 2015

Most people equate the 18th arrondissement on the Right Bank with the village-type area known as Montmartre, which is crowned by onion-domed Sacre Coeur high on a hill. Some immediately think of the artist community that flourished there in the early 20th century with residents such as Picasso and Dali. For others, the 18th conjures up the Moulin Rouge, a famous burlesque palace, or Pigalle, a seedy area devoted to adult entertainment.

But after decades of regular visits to Paris, I often equate the 18th with Marche Barbes, an incredibly colorful and crowded outdoor market in the city. This is unlike any of the myriad markets that I have visited in Paris and is off the radar screen of most tourists.

Residents from the immediate diverse and dynamic working-class neighborhood -- mostly Africans and Arabs -- throng to the market on Wednesday and Saturday mornings. They come to buy fruits, vegetables, fish, herbs and spices used in different ethnic cuisines and the list goes on. I stand out in my jeans and jacket as I mingle with women dressed in brightly colored African garb with bold patterns, flitting from stall to stall like butterflies. Other women pass by wearing headscarves. I rarely hear English or French in the chatter around me.

Expect to be jostled constantly within the massive crush if you come here, but that is all part of the experience. For those who want to pick up the makings of a picnic lunch, prices are low. But look carefully before buying.

I recommend leaving your camera at home or in your pocket when visiting this market. Taking photos, even of fruit, is often not appreciated. Just be carried along with the crowd, and enjoy the sights and sounds of a most unusual Paris market.

Marche Barbes stretches under Metro line 2 on Boulevard de la Chapelle in front of Lariboisiere Hospital. The Metro stop is Barbes-Rochechouart. It is a pleasant stroll from Sacre Coeur.

Date of experience: March 2015
5  Thank Rumples
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 March 2015

Anyone of a creative nature will fall in love with this part of Paris. The 18th arrondissement is one of the most popular areas of the city. It is often romanticised in films such as Amelie, the reality is, it really is like what you see in films. Most of Paris is flat so this rare hill is the perfect place to come and watch sunset from the steps in front of the Sacre Coeur. Hundreds of others will be doing the same thing.
The best way to get a rough overview of the area is to do a walking tour. Discover walks do a daily Montmartre walk leaving from Blanche station, daily at 11am.
Take care after dark, especially at the bottom of the hill around the Moulin Rouge and Pigalle metro stations. There are some very seedy characters who try and lure you in to sex shows.

Date of experience: January 2015
2  Thank Jolyon67
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews