We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Surprisingly Favorite Museum”

Musee des Arts et Metiers
Ranked #54 of 2,274 things to do in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 18 June 2018

We take things around us so much for granted that we forget they were the brainchild of some curious inventor. This museum shows you the beginnings of all of those inventions that are part of our world today. There are excellent videos that you can watch that show these objects in motion or how they work. English explanations are fairly brief so it helps to know a bit of French, but not necessary. Well worth a visit for sure.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Johanne Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,054)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"foucault's pendulum"
in 56 reviews
"scientific instruments"
in 33 reviews
"science museum"
in 17 reviews
"old church"
in 21 reviews
"old cars"
in 11 reviews
"statue of liberty"
in 17 reviews
"on display"
in 23 reviews
"interesting items"
in 5 reviews
"audio guide"
in 22 reviews
"temporary exhibition"
in 8 reviews
"metro station"
in 14 reviews
"great museum"
in 16 reviews
"rainy day"
in 9 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 7 reviews
"technology"
in 109 reviews
"engineering"
in 43 reviews
"invention"
in 63 reviews
Filter

25 - 29 of 1,054 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2018

Quite interesting collection of machines and technology from the Middle Ages to modern times. Some brief descriptions in English but a much better choice if you can read French. I always shutter when I see technology in a museum which I remember being state of the art.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Rich_C313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 May 2018

For lovers of science and invention, this museum is a treasure. Every room holds something wonderful...Foucault's pendulum, the Lumière cinematograph, spy cameras, old cars and planes, a camera obscura and plates for daguerreotypes, Blaise Pascal's 1642 calculator, ancient telescopes, Antoine Lavoisier’s laboratory, clever 18th century automatons, a 19th century flying machine, and so much more.
There is an English map and, under each item, a short description in English.Slide shows demonstrating a process (for example, the making of a daguerreotype) have subtitles in French and English.
This might not be the best museum for little kids who get bored without lots of interactive gadgets. But for adults and older children...take your sense of wonder and set it free.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

Great musueum with a humongous collection of scientific artifacts from the dawn of time !! U can get a great overview of scientific progress in the last 10 centuries or so here. Some examples are - Lavoisier's full experimental setup, Foucault's pendulum, Foucault's setup for measuring the speed of light, the evolution of the modern camera - and so on and so forth. One caveat - people who are not interested in science can get bored quickly.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Atri_Mandal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2018

This is a place for people with imagination! If you like the film 'Hugo' - go see. It is full of mechanical wonders, automatons and flying machines. There are interactive elements which are made of brass and wood and look like the exhibits. I don't have a scientific mind, nor am I mechanically minded but Clement Ader's flying machine with bat wings suspended in the grand stairwell made my heart sing! Foucoult's pendulum is a wonder. The autonomaton lady playing the piano (see it in motion in the little film) was brilliant! Leave plenty of time to go into the converted church section - it's full of big exhibits and quite steam punk! My scientifically minded son was fascinated, my artistic daughter was delighted by the contemporary art - Polynesian carvings made from surf boards and skateboards! It makes me want to go back to Paris again soon!

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musee des Arts et Metiers also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Musee des Arts et Metiers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing