We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (991)
Filter reviews
991 results
Traveler rating
328
474
152
29
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
328
474
152
29
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews courtepaille restaurant lovely apartment clean hotel poor location no english channels les salines on site restaurant restaurant next door main building living room old town large balcony swimming pool bus stop walk into town public transport airport
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 991 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2018 via mobile

We stayed two nights in a hotel room in the main building. Nothing negative to say! The room was pretty new and well equipped, enough power outlets to charge all your mobile toys, a fridge, and a very nice bathroom with a big sliding door to the shower. Yes, this hotel is not in the middle of downtown, but you should be able to recognize this at the time of your booking if you have a problem with that.

As we were there in October and thus after the main season, we had no problem driving into Ajaccio downtown and find a place in a parking garage.

There is a bakery and a supermarket in walking distance in case you want to grab something to eat. Make a right when you exit the property and both are where the gas station is.
We did not visit the grill restaurant next door.

We would stay there again because of the nice room and pool area!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Oliver964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 September 2018

This is a really good hotel/apartment if you don't mind a bit of a walk into town. If you do mind then don't stay here as your eating out choices are very limited. The walk is a good half an hour so approx. 1.5 to 2 miles. Top tip is get a train timetable and wait at Les Salines, a few minutes' walk away, for a train to Ajaccio. You still have a bit of a walk into the old town but it takes the sting out of it, especially if you plan on walking further round the coast. The apartment we stayed in was spotlessly clean, had a superb view and great facilities. The air con was fantastic and very much needed in September. We didn't use the pool, preferring the local Lazaret beach a bout 5 min utes' walk away. We did have a couple of issues with our apartment but they were fixed very speedily. The on-site restaurant, where you get 10% off, is basic but doesn't deserve the bad reviews it's had. It's not fine dining but perfectly ok for grills, burger, fish etc and the ice cream was lovely! You get toiletries and loo rolls and clean bedding and towels after 4 days.

Room tip: We had a good view on the second floor in 3202, I think those further to the left as you look at the block, would be less good.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kate J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 July 2018

For a four star hotel the staff is surprisingly ignorant about activities for tourists to do. We have traveled through Asia, Europe and the Middle East and found that nearly all four and five star hotels have a full or part time concierge. We finally were directed by to go to the Tourism Office.
The location is near nothing and to get to the main part of town requires a 15 Euro cab ride or a 40 minute ride on the local bus. If you want a decent meal the only restaurant on site is limited requiring you go into town to get a decent dinner.
At 4 AM on 7/24 we were wakened by the sound of alarms but no direction as to what to do. The two men who were manning the lobby desk running about apparently trying to figure out what to do. Guests were milling around the lobby and outside wondering what was happening and what to do. No one on the staff was taking the lead on the situation. I finally confronted one of them and was told it was not a fire but they were having some difficulty shutting the alarm down. I told him to then announce it to all of the guests standing around and not keep it a secret! Their staff is obviously in need of Fire Safety Training.
The swimming pool lacks ladders to enable swimmers to climb in and out of the pool easily and safely. This forced adults and children to jump or pull themselves out risking injury.
The rooms, while modern in design are not guest friendly. The design does not work and makes things difficult for guests. There is only a single closet about 30” in width to place clothing and not one drawer! Guests instead of unpacking are forced to live out of their suit case like some cheap motel. For guests staying for more than one or two days this is cumbersome and inconvenient.
Further, do not bring dollars there is no place in Ajaccio to change them to Euros. You can however use the cash machines but be advised if you get a 50 Euro bill out of the machines the banks won't make even change!
The people are friendly but in spite of its potential Ajaccio is not tourist friendly.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ivanram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASCPH, Manager at Hotel Best Western Plus Ajaccio Amiraute, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Dear Mr. and Mrs. Ramirez,

Thank you for your letter regarding your recent stay. I am disappointed to hear that you had such a dissatisfying experience and will try to address all of your concerns :

- Concierge :
Indeed, we do not have a full or part time concierge, most of our team members are locals and have good knowledge of the area. I am sorry that the person you spoke to was unable to give you satisfaction, we will review this point internally. We do however have an « E-concierge », a computer which offers guest activitiy information through a touch screen. It is located next to the reception desk. This is a standard in all Best Western hotels.

- Tourism Office/Taxi stand/Public Toilets : We will forward your observations to the city of Ajaccio and the local Taxi companies, as this falls under their purview.

- Washcloths : I believe this is an issue of translation/cultural difference. A washcloth translates to a "gant de toilette" in French. However, while the two words are equivalent in terms of language, the items are not identical. A French "gant de toilette" is a terry cloth glove with a small loop sewn on. An American washcloth is a small square of terry cloth. I will order a few of the American style washcloths, should American travelers wish to have those in future. While I have lived in the United States extensively and understand the difference between the two, my staff does not, as they are primarily Corsican (French.) For them a washcloth is simply an english word for "gant de toilette."

- Liquid Soap : I am sorry that you did not enjoy the toiletries we provided. The reason for the liquid soap is an environmental one. We are an "ecolabel" hotel, the only one in Corsica and as such we avoid single use items, such as small soap bars, however, for guests who prefer this type of soap, we have them on request at the reception desk.

- Closet Size : This is an issue we are looking into, as we do feel 30" is on the small side. For now, we do offer larger rooms with larger closets. It is a shame you did not make this concern known to us at the beginning of your stay, as we could have looked into changing your room. We are in plans to redesign the 30" closets in the year ahead, in rooms such as the one you occupied. I will note your suggestion to add more drawers.

- Pool Accessibility : Indeed there are no ladders in our pool, as it is a shallow one. I will forward your recommendation to our development team. I will suggest a ladder, or perhaps two ramps where the stairs lead down, one on each side.

- Fire Alarm : The fire alarm was deliberately pulled by a guest at 4am on July 24th in the hallways on the fourth floor of the hotel. For this I am truly sorry. French hotel fire alarms are designed with the specification that they must ring a full five minutes before the system allows anyone to turn it off. This is a safety feature and one that has no work-around. Our employees indeed had trouble turning it off, because of the location from which the alarm was set off. They inadvertently set it off a second time, whilst trying to shut it down. Indeed, in their scramble to turn it off, they failed to update the guests as to the cause of the alarm going off. While the alarm was not the direct fault of the hotel, it did interrupt your sleep, and for this I am offering to refund you the cost of that night.
Thank you again for your letter and its constructive comments.

Should you return to Ajaccio, please let me know and I will be only too happy to oversee your stay in the hopes that it will be a more satisfying one.

Yours sincerely,

Mr. Stephane Mozziconacci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 July 2018

This is a strange place - lovely reception staff, nice room, decent enough pool, safe secure parking and easy access (via public transport) into main town. All good. Then you try to use the bar - once you have managed to get the bar tender off his phone (we were there for four days, tried every time) his surly manner was at odds with that of the reception staff, then the bar is only open until just after 10 pm - yes, 10pm. We also tried breakfast, decent enough, hot and cold food available - its just that that's where the food offer stop - no other food served all day - no meals/snacks available after breakfast? The response was that there was a restaurant adjacent, "food" could be had there - well, this is somewhat ambiguous as to what classifies as food is different to the fare we were served (lump of greasy cold battered frozen fish, a 400g steak (200g of bone, 100g of meat, 100g of fat) and 3 turkey twizzlers with chips for my kids (ok, not turkey twizzlers but three breaded fingers of chicken - aye right, fish fingers would have been better!) - perhaps we should have guessed when we sat down and were looking at the menu when a young French couple got up and left, midway through their obviously inedible dinner, our mistake for staying. Quite frankly the "restaurant" was appalling - no wonder it was empty. When we went back to the hotel the ever delightful reception staff took time to mark on a map of decent restaurants in Ajaccio to eat - they acknowledged how poor the adjacent site restaurant was - shame as it could have been popular. It was then that we were informed that the bar had now closed, it being 10pm. Groan. This really is an odd place - not a hotel at all, more like a B&B with a pool. Not one to recommend.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank pids40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 July 2018 via mobile

Nice, clean hotel with helpfull and serviceminded staff. Great view of the Ajaccio bay from pleasant poolarea. Well equipped spacious appartment with large terrace. Wellfunctioning aircondition and WiFi. A car is recommended, parking no problem. About 30-40 minutes walk to city center, a buss is running but not in the evening and sundays.
Hope to come back!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Randi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews