We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (303)
Filter reviews
303 results
Traveler rating
132
116
23
19
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
132
116
23
19
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews croissants tasteful decoration room had air conditioning small hotels charming hotel within easy walking distance fresh fruit would definitely stay here again centre france
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 303 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2018

This is just an amazing place to stay it has real character and charm, the staff are friendly and helpful, we had a lovely room overlooking the garden. It is central and quiet and just great, the breakfast was perfect. I don’t like croissants but I had cereal and cooked meat and cheese and there was plenty of fruit to choose from. This hotel is more than reasonably priced and I would recommend anyone to stay here you will not be disappointed. The rooms are a little small but it’s not a problem had a lot smaller ones.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Sally537977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 June 2018

There are some negative reviews about this hotel, and I can't understand why. The hotel is not a huge place, it does state this, and is absolutely delightful with lots of character mingled with tasteful decoration that has been carefully thought about. Very French, very stylish, and in a great location away from the noisy centre of Bordeaux, yet within easy walking distance and access to trams. The staff were very welcoming, helpful and pleasant, and it felt like a stay in someone's house where you are well-looked after. Everything was very clean and the room had air conditioning.

Would definitely stay here again, and recommend the hotel to friends.

Date of stay: June 2018
Thank PhilippaP75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

This a charming small hotel. It has a convient location and very pleasant atmosphere and is tastefully decorated and retains the buildings character and style. The beds were comfortable and bathroom very nice with lots of hot water. The staff were gracious and very helpful and breakfast was relaxed and generous and served in a pleasant atmosphere. People who like small hotels will be pleased with this one.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank Jimoldford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Very disappointing. Billed as 3 star hotel I would say that this is more like a high end bed and breakfast. The rooms and bathrooms are very small, with minimal facilities. Our room didn’t even have a wardrobe, just a couple of hooks with hangers and very limited drawer space. The room might be sufficient for an overnight stay or two at the most but we were there for 5 nights and felt very cramped. No 24 hour reception and minimal lighting after dark made it also feel more like a B&B and although there was the option to order drinks and snacks this was only available until 7 or 7.30pm. Considering that the hotel is on a quiet side street it was also very noisy with every movement audible. I appreciate that it is an old building but some measures could be taken to reduce noise.
In its defence the staff were friendly and the courtyard where you can have breakfast was quite pleasant. Breakfast itself was fine.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NLPP_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaisonduLierre, Responsable réception at Hotel La Maison du Lierre, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Sir,
You have taken the time to share on the canvas your feelings following your stay at La Maison du Lierre.
You enjoyed our staff, the terrace and our breakfast buffet.
I confirm that we are indeed a 3 star hotel after the regulation and ranking Atout france. Also I invite you during your next bookings in other hotels to read well the information on that. Indeed all your remarks will not have taken place if you went on our site. (square metres of chamrbes, services, hours....)
Best Regards
La Maison du Lierre 's team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 July 2017

Although there are many things to be positive about staying here:
- the friendliness of the staff
- quality of the breakfast ingredients
- the pretty courtyard, in which you could enjoy breakfast

For us, there were a lot of negatives too:
- our room on the send floor, was tiny. The bathroom was basically a cupboard.
- nowhere to unpack. Just a few coat-hangers on a hook behind the door.
- very noisy. There was a large gap under our room-door and any noisy carried straight in. Day or night.
- Door code to enter the building after 8pm. Which meant basically you returned to a dark, empty lobby each evening.

The stay was fine, but I do not feel that this establishment should be advertised as a 3* hotel, when it feels totally like a bed and breakfast....

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Taylor158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaisonduLierre, Responsable réception at Hotel La Maison du Lierre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Mrs,
First of all, thank you for taking the time to share your experience at La Maison du Lierre.
You booked a double room located on the second floor without elevator (number 21) at the rate of 115 € per night, and you stay here 5 nights. You appreciate the welcome and we thank you, the terrace and breakfast also served on the terrace, in the form of a buffet at the rate of 12 € per person (fresh bread and croissant, orange each morning, cereals, homemade jams, Fruits, dried fruits, hot drinks, etc.). However you do not appreciate the sound of the floor, please note that this old parquet floor is part of the charm of our old house. Moreover the dimensions of the rooms are well indicated on the site of the hotel.

Best Regards,
The team of La Maison du Lierre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews