We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Sunday roast”
Review of Browns

Browns
Reserve a table
2
Wed, 01/12
20:00
OR
Get food delivered
Ranked #299 of 2,545 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Blending European brasserie dishes and timelessly elegant surroundings, Browns Bar and Brasserie Manchester champions an informal yet refined concept. Renowned for indulgent twists on classic comfort food recipes, Browns has offered trademark favourites since 1973, as well as choices from the specials board or the market fresh fish of the day. Showcasing striking design features and historic or listed buildings, Browns restaurants are a refined yet relaxed dining spot, at any time of the day. Designed by Charles Heathcote in 1902, it's a lovely example of Edwardian baroque architecture with some beautiful art nouveau detailing, particularly in the wrought iron work. We're right at the heart of this friendly and welcoming city centre - just 5 minutes walk from Piccadilly Gardens.
Reviewed 24 October 2021

So we ordered a takeout from here using Uber eats as Im not that well.

So disappointing for the money we spent! Ordered the pork belly and the beef..The food was severely over cooked, bland and dry you didn’t provide most of the additions both came with.. not even a drop of gravy.. luckily I had my own.

There was also a Strong taste to everything; something you’ve cooked in, vile!

Don’t even get me started on the Yorkshire’s or roasties, now I know we got a delivery but Christ they weren’t just dry, they were old! Clearly been sat there all day! Inedible! And a Yorkshireman we do love our Yorkshire’s!

Fair to say won’t attempt again

Date of visit: October 2021
Thank bend429
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Browns, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Bend429, it's upsetting to hear that your experience was anything but stellar. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will use your comments to refine our efforts to ensure this issue does not happen again. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,344)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 21 of 1,344 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2021 via mobile

I went to Browns in Manchester on the off chance as I have always had great food and service in Browns in other locations.
The starter was good, the fish pie was fine, shallots and peas seemed a bit odd for side veg but was ok, a glass of wine for over £9 seemed very expensive ( was meant to be a large one, but not so sure it was!)
I then asked if they did liqueur coffee which the waiter said they did do, so ordered an Irish coffee.
I then waited 40 mins for the coffee, it had started to get busy and the waiter seemed to be the only person serving anyone so gave him a little slack as he appeared stressed.
After 40 minutes I called him over to ask where my coffee was, only be told the bar man is in training and nobody knows how to make a liqueur coffee so I could not have it!
Why did you leave me here waiting for 40 minutes I asked? Why didn’t you tell me before?
The manager was going to tell you but didn’t was his reply! And that was it......... shabby, poor service and no customer service skills, such a shame, but I won’t be going back next time I’m in Manchester!

Date of visit: October 2021
Thank R9306EZalisons
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Browns, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2021

Hi R9306ezalisons, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. We are disappointed to hear that you are not satisfied with your visit. We can assure you that we do not find this type of behavior acceptable, and we will use your comments to refine our efforts to ensure this issue does not happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 October 2021 via mobile

Group of 11 after marathon , some were late after booking time, but no problem as restaurant very quiet.
Amazing building inside, old baroque bank, unfortunately so dimly lit it was hard to see a lot of it!
Food was good and drinks were reasonably priced.
The service was OK, but drinks seemed to take a long time to arrive at the start and our waiter didn't make any effort to interact with us remaining po faced all the time!
Other than that the meal was good in an amazing setting.

Date of visit: October 2021
1  Thank VinceLedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Browns, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2021

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We appreciate your honest feedback as it gives us a chance to improve. We hope you have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 October 2021 via mobile

Sat down and took 20mins for someone to ask what we wanted to drink, staff not friendly seem like they don’t want to be there. Out of loads of different food options - food was okay but nothing special for the price. Used to be such a lovely place to go now it just feels tired so many better places to go in Manchester nowadays.

Date of visit: October 2021
1  Thank 698lucyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Browns, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2021

698lucyh, we truly appreciate your honest feedback. We regret to hear that your recent experience was anything less than exceptional. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will use your comments to refine our efforts to ensure this issue does not happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 October 2021 via mobile

Considering the hospitality sector needs support, the staff at Browns don’t seem to care at all. Showed to a table for drinks at least 10 staff ignored us for 10 minutes. The couple behind us approached the barman to order he said it was table service, they waited a few more minutes and then left, obviously been waiting as well as us. Brown’s used to be one of our favourite places in Manchester, but after two poor experiences, no more.
This was Sunday at around 5, it was not busy.

Date of visit: October 2021
1  Thank MARKTRISHY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Browns, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2021

Marktrishy, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We regret that you had a negative experience, and will use this as an opportunity to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Browns also viewed

Salford, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Browns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.