We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mothers Day! Well mother would have done better!”
Review of The Boat Inn

The Boat Inn
Ranked #385 of 557 Restaurants in Doncaster
Price range: US$0 - US$18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Embracing the rural charm of its tranquil, scenic setting, The Boat Inn offers a modern twist on traditional country pub dining. As well as offering a beer garden for enjoying summertime dining, the cosy dining room is filled with rustic original features and toasty fires for warming winter dining. Championing favourite British recipes, guests can enjoy evenings devoted to the inn's freshly-baked pies, as well as gourmet roast dinners and seasonal cocktail mixes.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My family booked the boat inn for my Mother’s Day treat! We arrived at 5pm to find that on the pre advertised menu most of the dishes had run out and the menu was covered in black marker pen.
Surely if they advertised this menu then they should full fill this otherwise it breaches trades description ?
The meal was just ok, the deserts were auful

Thank helen187067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at The Boat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are disappointed to hear that you did not have a more positive experience with us at The Boat Inn. Although it's of no comfort to you, we had stocking issues with our food delivery company at this time which resulted in the missing items on the mothers day menu. I hope you are provided with a better experience if you decide to visit us again.

Kind Regards
Andy- Team Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (859)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 859 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Due to the impressive, healthy competition in Sprotbrough village now this place has had to really up it's game.
Whilst it's done that, it still needs to work on some things such as speed of service in particular, both in the restaurant and bar, plus attention to detail when taking specialised menu orders - Particularly if these relate to dietary requirements

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SuntanMan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at The Boat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello there. Thank you for taking the time to review our business. We appreciate all reviews, and appreciate you giving us the chance to improve by providing us with this feedback. We do hope that you will choose to visit us again soon in hopes that we can provide you with a more positive experience.

Kind Regards
Andy- Team Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Five of us ate here on the evening of Saturday 31st March 2018. The service was perhaps a little slow but all of the food we had was tasty and of decent quality. The prices appeared to be reasonable.

I suspect being by the die of the river in the summer months (with decent weather - assuming we ever get any) it would be a delightful place to spend a few hours.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mashie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at The Boat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good morning,
Thank you for taking the time to review our business.
As you said in your comments we do get very busy over the summer months and are always trying to improve on our service, your feedback is very helpful.
Once again thankyou for the 4 star rating.
Claire - Shift Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Perhaps it was just a very off day but it took 2 failed attempts to do a spicy veg wrap, the first was like a brick, the second like burnt toast. How hard can it be? Also they don’t do veggie pies although can manage a range of about half a dozen others.

Thank maxlyn2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at The Boat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello there

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We have also received your comments you sent to our guest care team and we have replied to you directly so hopefully you have received that email.

Apologies once again about your experience and hopefully our direct response was satisfactory.

Kind Regards

Felicity and The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped by for late lunch.
Had a choice of menu and decided on the set one of 2 or 3 courses. Went for the 3.
Enjoyed most of it but unfortunately my steak sandwich, although tasty, was a bit on the grissly side.
My husbands was perfect.
The rest was really enjoyable and the pub has a great cosy atmosphere.
Staff informative and friendly.

Thank Gloggs2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at The Boat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking your time to review our business, I am sorry to hear about your steak sandwhich, I will pass on your comments to our supplier.

We look forward to seeing you visit us again in the near future.

Kind regards
Emmajane - Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boat Inn also viewed

Doncaster, South Yorkshire
 
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
 
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
 

Been to The Boat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing