We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute gem! ”
Review of The Tap House

The Tap House
Ranked #63 of 209 Restaurants in Lancaster
Price range: US$0 - US$38
Description: The Tap House sets out to achieve one clear mission: to create a unique beer experience for the discerning drinker. We are a World Beer Shrine located in the heart of historic Lancaster and our philosophy is simple - to bring the best array of artisan brews and International craft ales alongside an eclectic range of niche wines and speciality spirits. Join us on a journey of craft beer enlightenment ...
Restaurant details
Description: The Tap House sets out to achieve one clear mission: to create a unique beer experience for the discerning drinker. We are a World Beer Shrine located in the heart of historic Lancaster and our philosophy is simple - to bring the best array of artisan brews and International craft ales alongside an eclectic range of niche wines and speciality spirits. Join us on a journey of craft beer enlightenment ...
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

We popped in here one evening to start a pub crawl off and were so enamoured with it that we came back! The drinks selection is impressive with something for everyone. The bar staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. What a brilliant find!

Thank RCharlton91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MitchellsofLanc, Manager at The Tap House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Hi RCharlton91
Enamoured! We love that - thanks! Please call in again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2018 via mobile

Loved this pub! Although it was quiet on a Monday evening, the place still had atmosphere. The ale was delicious and the staff were helpful, allowing us to try a couple before buying. Very glad we found this hidden gem and look forward to returning!

Thank aehrees33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MitchellsofLanc, Manager at The Tap House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Hi aehrees33
Thank you for a top review - the whole team really appreciates positive feedback. We're all very happy that you found us too and look forward to welcoming you back here soon. Keep an eye on our facebook page or give us a call if you'd like to know what's happening throughout the week...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 January 2018

ive been in here a few times its usually quiet when ive called in after work. Nice selection of beers and gins etc. tried to make conversation with the girl behind the bar but didn't get much back.... but just a word of warning for the ladies visiting the loo be careful as if you look up at the ceiling you can see the workmens ladders & scaffolding on the roof clear as day. They are doing the roof next door .....landlord you could do with some sort of cover over the window.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank lindabJ1865TK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MitchellsofLanc, Manager at The Tap House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Hi lindabJ1865TK
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for drawing our attention to the issue with our skylight. While works are ongoing to the roof next door, we have sorted it! We hope you pop in again after work for a cheeky gin or one of our beers?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 November 2017

Lancaster is spoilt for choice with good drinking options and the Tap House is one of them. It was Friday night and busy although I managed to grab a free table in the corner and such was the great range of cask ales (six on rotation), keg and cans that I settled on two different halves.

Staff were friendly and helpful and the place has a nice atmosphere. Good food also available and there's regular events. The pub also offers CAMRA members 10% off a pint. In terms of a proper local, the Tap House hits all the spots and you can tell that the team take pride in the drinks on offer. Make sure you get there if you're in Lancaster.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MitchellsofLanc, Manager at The Tap House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Hi Michael H
Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to leave us such a stunning review!
We hope that you choose to call in again soon - we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

We visited with a big group of friends... keen to try the gins which were great but no Guinness and the nearest was a porter which was awful!! Get some Guinness please Tap House!!!!!!

Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MitchellsofLanc, Manager at The Tap House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2017

Hello Jane T
Bah Guinness!
We do sell York Britannia Stout, a lovely sipping milk stout!
Jeremy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tap House also viewed

Lancaster, Lancaster District
Heysham, Lancaster District
 
Morecambe, Lancaster District
Bolton le Sands, Lancaster District
 
Heysham, Lancaster District
Lancaster, Lancaster District
 

Been to The Tap House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing