We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter Monday lunch”
Review of The Colebrook

The Colebrook
Ranked #121 of 349 Restaurants in Solihull
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$17
Cuisines: British, Grill, Brew Pub
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

My second visit to this place, it has a good environment and is kept clean. One of the big draws is an extensive and very reasonably priced menu. Plenty of veggie options - though it’s a real shame the halloumi & chips isn’t! Would also be really easy to add a veggie sausage & mash. Food was served quickly and was tasty. The staff are in the whole friendly &helpful. Look forward to returning in better weather to make use of the outside seats. Oh and if you’re going download the embers inn app to get a free drink.

Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at The Colebrook, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Thank you Sarah for taking the time to rate us and leave such a lovely review. Yes hopefully better weather will be here soon so everyone can enjoy the garden area too. Hope to see you again soon. Shiv and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018

We have been to this pub this evening as it was rated quite highly on trip adviser - one sirloin steak - medium to well done please, and a rib eye surf and turf thank you very much - sirloin was the most toughest, grisliest fattiest sirloin I have ever had the misfortune to order, and the rib eye - ? Was the back end of a rump or a bit of beef skirting at best - rib eye was ordered medium but plate was swimming in blood with 9 tepid prawns chucked into the mix! Surfing in a bloody watery liquid! Absolutely disgusting!
Anyone who has any sort of food hygiene certificate should know that is a recipe for disaster..... staff were very good and completely understood our complaint - but really? You serve and charge for this??? no quality control in the kitchen, as these two very poor peices of meat would've been rejected and returned to the supplier!
We were given a refund, but that's not the point here, I'd rather have had a really nice steak meal which we were looking forward to... very disappointing, won't bother again, sad really - front of house staff were great!

2  Thank SusieBV8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at The Colebrook, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Susie.

Im sorry for the disapointing visit you had.

We do have quality controls in place but however on thos occasion something has gone wrong.

I am happy however that the team were able to adapt and try to resolve the issue as quickly and professionally as they could they are truely an asset to the colebrook.

However we should not have got ourselves into this situation.

I hope you will visit us again.

Kind regards,

Shiv and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 March 2018

We came here for lunch during half-term and had a lovely experience. The pub is an Ember Inn so we knew the menu would be fairly reliable. We had traditional fish & chips, and pie & chips, and both were very tasty. We were told there was a half an hour wait on the food but it came within about 20 minutes.

The service was very good as the waiter was pleasant and attentive, which you don't always expect within a chain pub. All in all we had a nice dining experience and will definitely be returning in the near future.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 4Sophie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at The Colebrook, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Thats so amazing you had such a lovely experience here.
Its great to hear that all the staff hard work is noticed.
Hope you visit soon.
Shiv ans the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 February 2018 via mobile

What a lively busy place I didn't think we'd get a table it was that busy. We found a table and ordered our food at the bar. Drinks were purchased and had a very good selection . Starters came within 10 minutes they were hot well presented and very tasty. Main courses were 10 minutes later both steaks and cooked to perfection and well presented again and hot . Bar staff and waiters were very pleasant meal excellent and drinks good would definitely visit again

Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at The Colebrook, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Thank you Steven for your rating and feedback; so glad you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again soon. Shivaun and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 January 2018

Usual pub grub. Hunters chicken was a small piece of chicken with an even smaller piece of bacon round it with too few chips .
Very busy on a Saturday lunch time so some food must be okay. I shan’t be going back.

Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at The Colebrook, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Thank you Sue for your honest review.
We pride excellent service and care in all aspect.
However your expectations were not met.
I really do hope you will visit us
Kind regards
Shiv and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Colebrook also viewed

Dorridge, Solihull
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Solihull, West Midlands
 

Been to The Colebrook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing