We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb lunch”
Review of The White Bear

The White Bear
Ranked #6 of 105 Restaurants in Ruislip
Description: We look forward to welcoming you all back to a brand new summer menu and some fabulous new wines so there’s lots to look forward to. We have a new covered outdoor area that you are able to enjoy. If you choose to dine or drink inside or out, our pub has numerous lovely spots to catch up with family and friends. Our pub is looking as gorgeous as ever, with tasteful interior decor touches created by our award-winning Head of Design too so you can be sure that your pictures of your special times will look amazing. Fresh, seasonal food and a very warm welcome awaits you. We are also very dog friendly so well-behaved pups are also very welcome indeed! We look forward to seeing you soon.
Restaurant details
Description: We look forward to welcoming you all back to a brand new summer menu and some fabulous new wines so there’s lots to look forward to. We have a new covered outdoor area that you are able to enjoy. If you choose to dine or drink inside or out, our pub has numerous lovely spots to catch up with family and friends. Our pub is looking as gorgeous as ever, with tasteful interior decor touches created by our award-winning Head of Design too so you can be sure that your pictures of your special times will look amazing. Fresh, seasonal food and a very warm welcome awaits you. We are also very dog friendly so well-behaved pups are also very welcome indeed! We look forward to seeing you soon.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The four of us could not have enjoyed our lunch more. The duck was first class as were the fish dishes. Cheese souffle delicious. Desserts earned great praise, especially pistacho souffle and rhubarb crumble.
Staff were friendly and efficient.
Very importantly - great care was taken to keep everyone safe from Covid.

Can't wait to go again.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank N7691REsandrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WBRuislip, Public Relations Manager at The White Bear, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good evening,

It was a pleasure to serve you and even more of a pleasure to read your review. Thank you very much for the excellent write up. I am glad we are hitting the mark and we will lookforward to your next visit.

Kindest regards,

David



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (894)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 894 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent meal, good wine list and good atmosphere given social distancing limitations. We had Chateaubriand which was excellent and cooked exactly as we asked. Amazing pistachio soufflé for desert. My only suggestion to management is to give larger portions of sauce given that you pay extra for it- the thimble sized portion doesn’t fit with the otherwise great experience.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank LondonCarla69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WBRuislip, Guest Relations Manager at The White Bear, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good evening,

It was lovely seeing you the other evening. Thank you for your valuble feedback. Since your visit we have increased the size of the sauces given with our steaks. We are always here for you and always will be.

Many thanks for coming and supporting our re-opening. We can't wait to welcome you back again soon.

All the best,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a meal here last night so impressed can't fault it perfect lovely atmosphere waiting staff amazing food amazing and even had a cocktail fantastic will be using this place again and again

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank BarryBaxt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WBRuislip, Deputy Review Responder at The White Bear, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Barry,

We think you're amazing too and already looking forward to your return.

Take care,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 January 2021

What can I say, I had been waiting to go here for a while having heard good things.

Service was indeed good which is a bonus, however, the food.... wow. I was not expecting it to be that bad.

They are just trying too hard here and none of it is working.

For nearly 18 pounds as a main, I had salmon, over cooked yet with a crip skin and what can only be described as oven chips (they were reasonably good oven chips, Mccain at least but wow), and a thick, dull and uneventful sauce.

There was no joy here.

We tried the vegan starter of jack fruit for fun, this gave the meal the only high point of some rather nice dressing. But again, trying to be cool, but a failure to deliver meaningful flavour.

There is nothing here that you could not make on a good day cooking at home so why come out other than for the change of scene.

Maybe its me, try the place, I'm happy to be proven wrong, heck I might even go back again to see if it was just a one off. God I hope its not.

Date of visit: August 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KeithWhatling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 December 2020

My wife and I have dined at the White Bear on numerous occasions and between lockdowns too. Special thanks must go to Rory, David and Franco. Always charming and nothing is ever too much trouble.

Date of visit: December 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruislip W, General Manager at The White Bear, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2020

Hi Paul,

thanks for the nice review. It is always a pleasure looking after you. Have a wonderful Christmas and see you again in 2021.

Franco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Bear also viewed

Ruislip, Greater London
Pinner, Greater London
 
Ruislip, Greater London
Ruislip, Greater London
 

Been to The White Bear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.