We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (845)
Filter reviews
845 results
Traveler rating
338
209
146
73
79
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
338
209
146
73
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kids club crazy golf family suite impressive building swimming pool family break hen party bar staff food was lovely lovely hotel friday night a lovely stay staff were lovely top class bar area hot food great selection
Filter
Updating list...
231 - 236 of 845 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We are just back from a great 2 night break at this hotel.
We got a family suite which was huge and very comfortable.
Very kid friendly and lots for small kids to do.

The food in the restaurant was very good but I deducted a mark for terrible service in particular front of house at the restaurant plus our room wasn't serviced which isn't great when you have messy kids.

All in all though we will be back . Thank you

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Mairin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaytonSligo, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Sligo, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Mairin D,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel following your recent stay. We do apologise for any inconvenience caused throughout your stay. We are glad that you enjoyed it nonetheless and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

N McLeish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Stayed here with 6 adults, one 12 year old, 10 year old, 2 year old and a baby. The hotel is good. Decor could do with an update in places. On the whole it is very comfortable. Bed was extra comfy!!
The evening meal was good but nothing special. Good quality but lacked flavour.
Breakfast was better with lots of choice and fresh produce.
Staff were really good, helpful and friendly.
The winning thing about this hotel was the amount for kids to do. There was a pool with a large inflatable dragon, set up for an hour. It was full of families. There was a disco for kids too and a kids club. On arrival the children received a pack, colouring in materials etc. There was also a voucher for a free ice cream and a coffee for an adult. Great idea!!
The rooms were great for families! There were standard double rooms and then rooms with large living areas which were ideal for the kids. These rooms had small kitchen areas and great seating areas. Great space for families. Would definitely go back with family groups!

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Sicilianfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaytonSligo, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Sligo, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Sicilianfan,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! The staff will be thrilled with the recognition received online over the past couple of very busy weeks and I will make sure they are made aware of your great comments. It is great to see the whole family enjoyed our facilities and amenities. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

N McLeish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 April 2018

I stayed here last week and was amazed at such a fantastic building and its harrowing past. The previous owners had done a fabulous job converting this wreck of a building and grounds into what it is now. However the current owners have a lot of work to do as well. The hotel is possibly one of the dirtiest I have stayed in and in particular the bedroom. The room had a nice large bed but it had a bedspread that contained a number of dubious stains on it as did the furniture and carpet. The bathroom floor was filthy as were the bathroom walls and mirror. It is nice when you are staying in a hotel room to feel that the room has been cleaned properly and this one was not. The lift was dirty as well. The staff in the hotel were all very pleasant and helpful which is the reason I gave the hotel an average rating. The evening meal I had in the bar was very nice as was the breakfast. Overall I just felt the Hotel was being run on a shoestring with the least money being spent on upkeep. I stayed here while in Sligo on business but I would probably not stay here again.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Yogmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaytonSligo, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Sligo, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Yogmart,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

Sincerely,

N McLeish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

The 4 of us went here for a few days over the easter holidays. We have a 7 year old and a 5 year old and this place was perfect for us. The goodie bag on arrrival the ice cream cart in the lobby and the dinosaur in the pool were a huge hit with the boys. The lovely helpful staff on the front desk were brilliant. We used the pool a lot and the gym team were really great and helpful.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Sam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaytonSligo, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Sligo, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Sam G,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! The staff are very appreciative of your words.

Sincerely,

N McLeish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Spent two nights in this lovely hotel not our first visit. Our bedroom was very spacious well equipped as was the bathroom. The hotel in general is lovely very family friendly with a kids club and great leisure and spa facilities. Lovely food and drinks served by lovely friendly staff especially Daniella who looked after us very well. Some history attached to this hotel lovely garden and four old churches on the grounds, Lots to see and do in Sligo a lovely relaxing Easter break.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank CullenLaoisIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaytonSligo, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Sligo, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear CullenLaoisIreland,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and indeed for your continued custom. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Sincerely,

N McLeish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews