We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must try!”
Review of Green Onion Cafe

Green Onion Cafe
Ranked #36 of 317 Restaurants in Limerick
Description: Cafe opposite the Hunt Museum. Open since July 2018. Proud to serve the best coffee, soup, salads and sandwiches to the people of Limerick Citaaaay. Green Onion originally opened in 1995.
Restaurant details
Description: Cafe opposite the Hunt Museum. Open since July 2018. Proud to serve the best coffee, soup, salads and sandwiches to the people of Limerick Citaaaay. Green Onion originally opened in 1995.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great little find. Was looking for a vegan brekkie while staying in Limerick and this was close to the hotel
Ordered the vegan breakfast with freshly squeezed orange juice.
The premise was very trendy. The staff were very helpful and accommodating. The food was so tasty! The flavours were top notch - everything was fresh and cooked to perfection. Overall the meal set us up for the day and we will defo be returning!

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank 922connieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2021 via mobile

I just love the fact this place has been able to reopen. David and his team worked so hard throughout the pandemic and recently reopened. We have missed you and your great food!

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank O5065KQtommyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 February 2021

Unfortunately with the cafe closed due to Covid, availed of the Green Onion Cafe's takeout/home delivery meals. The beef bourguignon x 2 and 4 sides were a real treat, absolutely delicious. Great quality ingredients and food. Very easy to prepare with detailed instructions.
Definitely will re-order and look forward to visiting once it re-opens post Covid.

Date of visit: February 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PhilipTipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 November 2020 via mobile

Ordered dinner for 4 from Green Onion today as we are all sick of cooking ! From the ease of ordering over the phone ( really friendly service, straightforward menu ), the on time delivery, the instructions for reheating to the eating of the most delicious meal ; everything was perfect. We had pork belly , beef bourguignon, mash,gratin potatoes, veg, & garlic ciabatta and it was so tasty. Very generous helpings and great value all helped to make it a lovely Friday evening , well needed. Thanks Dave and crew

Date of visit: November 2020
1  Thank redhats
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 October 2020

I came here for the first time today and I though the food was good but it was overpriced. The coffee was good and the food was fresh although I don't know anywhere else in Limerick charging €6 for a soup, even the hotels.

The "pie's" are made with filo pastry. They tasted good, but not €9 good. We sat outside because of the current situation with covid and the staff didn't seem to care about the tissues that blew from tables onto the street.

Date of visit: October 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jamesozzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidCorbettGOC, Owner at Green Onion Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2020

James, you gave 4 stars on Google accompanied by a smug, badly-written ‘review’. You took offence at my response and not only changed your original 4 stars to 1, but had your partner give us a 1 star review there, along with another anonymous 1 star review, but now you try and cause damage to our business on this platform.
James, we are trying to stay open during a global pandemic, we are operating at 25% of our pre-Covid turnover. We are trying to keep our amazing staff employed. This is our livelihood, we are trying to pay our mortgage, and other bills.

Your ‘reviews’ help nobody. I do not know what you are trying to achieve but it is neither constructive nor welcome during these difficult times for everyone.

PS Learn the difference between shortcrust pastry & filo pastry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Onion Cafe also viewed

Limerick, County Limerick
 
Limerick, County Limerick
Limerick, County Limerick
 

Been to Green Onion Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.