We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Ross(Killarney)
US$258
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Cahernane House(Killarney)
Free cancellation until 08/02
US$249
US$240
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$170
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 08/03
US$278
US$270
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brook Lodge Hotel(Killarney)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 08/02
US$182
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arbutus Hotel(Killarney)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Abbey Lodge(Killarney)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Acara B&B(Killarney)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (2,533)
Filter reviews
2,533 results
Traveler rating
1,916
449
109
36
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,916
449
109
36
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdanu restaurantangsana spavitality suitekelly annbar foodtop classbeautiful hotelsteam rooma wonderful staysuperior roomfrom start to finishspa facilitieswould highly recommend this hotelwedding receptionlast weekendboth nightssister hotel
Filter
Updating list...
120 - 125 of 2,533 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

What to say?

Our second stay here.

The perfect hotel. The staff, the food, the location, the ambience, the rooms. It has EVERYTHING.

I had just had a knee procedure and asked for a room the lift. We were placed right next to it.

We simply cannot fault this hotel.

Only one small criticism - and the Brehon is not unique) is the late checkin.

2:00pm is late enough.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Eamonn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBrehonTeam, Manager at The Brehon, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Eamonn,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Brehon, Thank you for your comments regarding our check in time. We hope you would return to stay with us, and if so if you would like to request an early check in time we will do our best to accomodate you before 4pm. While this is not always possible we would do our best to have your room ready on arrival.

Kind Regards
Lorraine Salmon,
Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed here only one night; wish we had more time here in Kilkenny and at the hotel. The front desk personnel were friendly and engaging. Breakfast, which was included in our room price, the next morning was great. Loved the fresh honeycomb for toast or yoghurt. Everything kept very fresh. Servers were very attentive.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with friends
1  Thank Gregory G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBrehonTeam, Manager at The Brehon, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Gregory,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at The Brehon Hotel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your experience with us.

We hope you will be back to visit us again soon.

Kind Regards
Lorraine Salmon,
Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2018

My Husband and I recently visited The Brehon Hotel for a two night break. It was very busy but the staff was so nice and helpful. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean. It had everything we needed . We ate in the bar the first night and the food was good. We only had a toasted special with chips and it was good. We didn't think there was a great selection to chose from in the menu. We had breakfast on both mornings and it was delicious. They catered for everyone with a huge selection to choose from. The staff was extremely busy but everything ran smoothly. There were cereals fresh fruit Continental Breakfast and the full Irish. It was self service except for tea and coffee.There was plenty to choose from. The food was cooked well and piping hot. We ate in the dining room the second night and it was excellent. It was a four course menu with good choices. I had beef and my Husband had hake. They were both delicious. Our server was Kelly who could'nt do enough for us. She is Canadian and very good at her job. We used the sauna and steam room and pool and they were very relaxing. We went to the Glen Eagle for entertainment the first night and it was very enjoyable. The second night we stayed in the Brehon and there was entertainment in the bar. It was very loud and not suitable for the age group or the small area.We were glad to move out to the foyer and have a quiet drink. Overall we enjoyed our stay and we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The second floor is nice and quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBrehonTeam, Manager at The Brehon, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Caroline,

Thank you for your lovely review. The entire team were delighted to read your comments, in particular Kelly who was glad to hear you enjoyed your evening in the Danú restaurant.Thank you for your comments on the music in the Brehon Bar and I have passed this on to our bar manager for review.

Kind Regards
Lorraine Salmon
Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Stopped off for food on a recent trip to Killarney. Been here before and normally love the place but we were served a very poor lunch of Beef and Guinness stew, supposedly the 'special' of the day. What little beef was there was fatty and tough so we ended up eating some mash, mushrooms and gravy for €14 each. It was topped off with a badly poured pint. Our server was nice and helpful so I didn't complain to him but we won't be rushing back.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorrainesalmon, Manager at The Brehon, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Michael M,

We are very sorry to hear your feedback following your recent visit to The Brehon bar. We would have happily replaced your dish on the day had you made your server aware. While it is unusual for us to receive such feedback we would always welcome the comments on the day so that we are in a position to rectify it for you. It is very important for us that you enjoy your dining experience.
I would be happy to discuss your experience further and can be contacted on 064 6630700 or lorraine.salmon@thebrehon.com. I do hope you would consider returning to us and give us the opportunity to show you all we have to offer.

Kind regards,
Lorraine Salmon
Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Great location , my room had a lovely view over the national park. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast is delicious with lots to chose from. Bar is reasonable and also used the lovely spa facilities

Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorrainesalmon, Manager at The Brehon, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Catherine,

It is great to hear you enjoyed your recent trip to The Brehon and thank you for sharing your experience.
We do hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Lorraine Salmon
Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews