We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old Ground Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$195
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
US$88
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$73
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Woodstock(Ennis)(Great Value!)
US$144
US$133
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Inn at Dromoland(Newmarket-on-Fergus)(Great Value!)
US$122
US$114
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
US$97
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,695)
Filter reviews
1,695 results
Traveler rating
1,022
482
110
56
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,022
482
110
56
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstown hall restaurantthe pubpoets corner barold world charmlovely old hotelold styledining roomtraditional musicshannon airporthotel bargreat atmospheretour grouplovely townlive musictop classlast weekendscones
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,695 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

On a ten day trip around Ireland we came across Ennis and luckily they had room for us for 2 nights. It was wonderful. Room large and so very comfortable. The restaurant had wonderful food. Every single member the staff were welcoming and so accommodating. If I make it back to Ennis, no other hotel will be considered.

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank DVHeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited as a group and found the service and friendliness to be amongst the best in the country. The food is fabulous and always consistently good. Well done and well presented. The service is top class and the staff were excellent. The banner room has recently been refurbished and added to the great experience. 5 stars from us. (Would give more if possible)

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with friends
1  Thank ennisbannerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place is pretty huge!! It's right across the street from the beautiful church, and it's nice to hear the bells in the morning.

We only stayed one night, and wish we had been able to stay in Ennis longer, which is a lovely little town. I felt like the staff was quite attentive - we accidentally set off the fire alarm with the steam from our shower (good to know the things are working) and there was somebody dispatched to our door faster than I've ever walked from the lobby.

I didn't like the plastic undersheeting on the bed, so that was a very small point against them, but the room was lovely, the bathroom generous and the other amenities comfortable.

The breakfast was delicious (I had the smoked salmon and eggs), but the staff was quite overwhelmed and a bit distracted. I don't really blame them, it seemed like they were doing quite a lot with a very small number of staff members, but could have used a few more refills on the coffee.

Other than that, though, you can't beat the location and the lovely grounds.

Room Tip: We had Room 201, and although the view was slightly less than charming (over the dumpsters), it was very quiet in the back corner.
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Katie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Found this by accident last night when looking for a place to stay the night before an early flight back from Shannon. Straightaway we could see it was steeped in a long history of being a hotel and it had all the atmosphere that goes with it. Very comfortable room at a reasonable price. If and when we come back we'll stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller53Wiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Ennis is a relatively small community but this hotel is big on charm. The staff was excellent and the accomodations did not disappoint. I would highly recommend the Old Ground Hotel. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank lynk11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews