We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Western House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$79
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
US$97
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Ayr(Ayr)(Great Value!)
US$45
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$107
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$158
US$126
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Horizon Hotel(Ayr)(Great Value!)
US$82
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Arrandale Hotel(Ayr)(Great Value!)
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$73
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (867)
Filter reviews
867 results
Traveler rating
593
186
51
22
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
593
186
51
22
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscourtyard roommain buildingjockey clubayr racecourserace coursewedding guestswedding meallovely hotelfirst classwedding receptionhot chocolateevery member of stafflittle extrashuge bedchecking outwould highly recommend this hotelattending a wedding
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 867 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were given a gift of afternoon tea after our sons wedding last Aug ,so myself and hubby popped in for afternoon tea it was fantastic the selection of sandwiches was great and the cakes were out of this world ,not forgetting the scone with jam and team think I ate my body weight in cakes that day as everyone was so nice . when we arrived we had the choice of where to sit in the lounge or in the restaurant but we choose the lounge and it was cosy and warm and everyone was so friendly and staff were fantastic .

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mary-k1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHouseHotelAyr, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good afternoon Mary-k1965

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your visit for afternoon tea. We are glad you enjoyed your food and service and we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards

Gary White
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Bank holiday Monday (Easter). Courtyard room was very spacious, clean and well-appointed. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The bar staff’s knowledge of his stock, including some excellent whiskies and gins was second to none. The food and drink were excellent value and great quality. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHouseHotelAyr, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good afternoon Chris H

Thank you for taking the time to leave a fantastic review on your recent stay with us. I am please to see that you enjoyed our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Gary White
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at Western House for 2 nights as part of the wedding party for my wonderful friends wedding last weekend and it was outstanding ! The Friday night was a chill out night for friends and family and the atmosphere was very nice and relaxed even although there was a busy charity night in the main ballroom. We dined in the separate restaurant which was tucked away and absolutely beautiful. The food and service we received that night were second to none and just made for a very nice pre wedding get together. The day itself went absolutely to plan and we managed to get lucky with the weather as it was a fine Ayrshire sunny day. All of the rooms in the main Hotel are named after famous racecourses and ours for the weekend was Epsom Downs. The room was amazing and a great size with the bathroom also extremely spacious with lovely surprises awaiting your arrival. Must be the first time I have got lucky at Epsom ! Members of my family were staying in the courtyard which you can almost touch from the main Hotel and they all advised that their rooms were first class in every way. All in all a most memorable weekend celebrating with David and Yvonne to which Western House played a major part in. Would thoroughly recommend for any occasion.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Paul0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHouseHotelAyr, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good morning Paul0407

Thank you for such a fantastic review.

It's great to see that you enjoyed every aspect of your visit to our hotel especially the service and the wee touches we provide to make your stay more pleasant.

We hope to see you again next time your down in Ayr.

Kind regards

Gary White
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Spent two nights here, on a DBB basis. Main Hotel building is impressive and the gardens are beautiful. Room was situated in an annexe building(2 min walk from main building where all meals are served), but once inside, the room was spacious, spotlessly clean, lovely bathroom and power shower. The staff are exceptionally friendly. Dinner was absolutely fantastic. Beautifully served and tasted out of this world ! Breakfast is cooked to order. Little touches made our stay special, hot chocolate and shortbread for the evening, for example, and takeaway coffee and tablet offered for your journey. Slight niggle was that the Wi-fi did not work, although we did not need it ourselves. Hotel is right beside the racecourse and Ayr town centre is within walking distance. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, would highly recommend.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Glensetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHouseHotelAyr, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good morning Glensetter.

Thank you for leaving a wonderful review on your experience at Western House Hotel.

It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your visit from the food and service to the bedroom with all of it's wee touches.

Thank you for letting me know about the wi-fi, i have logged this with IT.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards

Gary White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I travel extensively on business and wish I had more reasons to visit Ayr. This hotel belies it's 4 star status. So much better than a typical Hilton or Marriot. Beautiful public areas, nice rooms but it is the staff that set it apart. Every staff member could not do enough for you and sent out of their way to make sure everything was ok. I have stayed at several Scotish 5 star resort hotels and whilst this hotel is not, the hotel made you feel almost as special for a quarter of the price. Well done to the whole team. Looking forward to going back.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled on business
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHouseHotelAyr, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good morning Chris W.

What a lovely review, thank you for your kind words.

We work hard a s a team to make sure that all of our guests are well looked after and feel like they are in a 5* hotel and pride ourselves on service and value.

We look forward to welcoming you back when in Ayr.

Kind regards

Gary White
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews