We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Nearby Hotels
Moulin Hotel(Pitlochry)
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fisher's Hotel(Pitlochry)
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
East Haugh House(Pitlochry)
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Acarsaid(Pitlochry)(Great Value!)
US$126
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Pine Trees Hotel(Pitlochry)
US$156
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dundarach Hotel(Pitlochry)
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atholl Arms Hotel(Pitlochry)(Great Value!)
US$99
US$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$254
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (899)
Filter reviews
899 results
Traveler rating
802
79
13
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
802
79
13
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspremier roombalcony roomsmall hotelpre dinner drinksbreakfast and dinnerfirst classvenisonlovely hotelno lifttop floorfour postercomfortable loungenew ownersold housesuperb foodreturn visithigh standard
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 899 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have just completed a one-night stay in this lovely hotel, just 10 minutes stroll from Pitlochry town centre. Beautiful room with lovely view – and binoculars to enjoy! There was an amazing of very recent books to read - sadly we had no time. Toiletries are large multi-use bottle type - much better for the environment and bottled water was in glass bottles (again anything that cuts down on plastic is wonderful to see). Canapés, dinner and breakfast were all excellent and the wine list very reasonably priced. Staff were efficient, very pleasant and professional. All requests were met with a smile and completed within minutes. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Marie
Thanks for the recommendation and the lovely review. Really nice to hear that some of our attempts to reduce our environmental impact are being noticed. We are implementing new measures where we can, but there is still a lot to do! Thanks again and kind regards, Struan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights at Easter 2018.

Friendly welcoming staff, lovely spacious & clean room and out of this world food.

Far exceeded our expectations and wouldn’t hesitate to recommend. Top notch hotel with a service to match.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank SkywalkerDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi SkywalkerDerby
Short and sweet! Great review. Thanks very much indeed.
Kind regards
Struan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for a special birthday break and had a wonderful time. The room was very clean and well prepared. Food was excellent and catered for our vegetarian and vegan preferences. The lounge is a particularly nice with lots of seating options and two open fires. The staff were nice particularly the young Scottish lady that helped with our cases on arrival.

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jsnelgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Jsnelgrove
Great to hear you enjoyed your birthday break with us. Thanks for saying we catered well for your vegetarian and vegan preferences. This is definitely not our area of expertise but i'm very pleased we delivered what you were after. Thanks again and kind regards, Struan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I recently stayed at the Knockendarroch hotel for the first time. We were most impressed! Staff are friendly, helpful and skilled, food and excellent--- a very high standard and a lovely touch being served canapés before the evening meal. Our room was spotless and so comfortable. We can thoroughly recommend this hotel and will definitely return at some point. When rating rooms etc at the end of this review, the click system didn't' work. We rate everything 5

Room Tip: No lift so if mobility problems better to have a room on the first floor
Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
2  Thank ehghackney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello ehghackney1
Delighted you were impressed with your recent stay. Thanks very much for the 5 star review and the recommendation. See you next time! Kind regards, Struan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were non-residents. Reception on arrival was friendly and welcoming.
The room where we were served our canapes and chose from the menu had a blazing log fire.
The dinner menu comprises canapes plus starter, main and dessert.
The dinner menu was disappointingly limited in choice but what we ordered was to our taste and satisfaction. Food portions were small especially the fish dish, as a main. Coffee and tablet in the lounge is now an extra. WHY?
Too expensive at £232 for four with the only drinks being one mid-range bottle of wine between four.
The only toilet, uni-sex, beside the entrance porch, is most definitely State of the Ark. :-(

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 50Ecosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello 50Ecosse

Thanks very much for your review of your dinner in our restaurant. It actually sounds like you enjoyed your dinner experience with us, although it is a shame that you found the menu to be limited and too expensive. When you made your booking we explained, as we do with all bookings, that dinner is £46 per person for three courses and canapes. We explained that our menu changes every day but will always comprise a choice of 4 starters, 4 mains and 4 puddings. It is a real challenge for our chefs to provide this level of variation on a daily basis and so it is a shame that you felt let down by choice.

You have asked why coffee and tablet in the lounge after dinner was not inclusive. Four years ago we stopped including coffee within the dinner price because a surprising number of people did not want coffee after dinner and would ask for a discount as a result. In an effort to eliminate potential guest frustration, we removed after dinner drinks from the inclusive price. This has allowed us to keep the fixed price of the dinner down as low as possible, with only one price rise in three years. Hopefully this answers your question.

Lastly, I'm sorry to hear that you were not a fan of our Victorian cloakroom with original features. We love it, as do most of our diners. Just goes to show you can't be all things to all people.
Thanks again for your feedback.
Kind regards
Struan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews