We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Blair Athol Distillery
from US$138.47
More Info
from US$472.07
More Info
Reviews (2,105)
Filter reviews
2,105 results
Traveler rating
1,638
357
77
16
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,638
357
77
16
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews signature tour single malt great tour our tour guide mash tun wee dram tasting experience take home explained everything his knowledge knew his stuff small group whisky making process take away whiskey tasting whole process gift shop
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 2,105 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2021 via mobile

It is best to get there at least 10 minutes before the start of your tour otherwise you’ll be late and miss the start. Mark was our tour guide he did a great job of showing us around this working distillery, it was very interesting with a few of anecdotes of his own. He explained the differences of strong, mild/light and Smokey Malts - Where in the highlands they came from, which coast west or east, by some peaty and some are not, how & where they were stored how long for and how they mixed them! For instance a bottle of 12-year-old malt is not just a 12 year old malt! the 12 year indicates that the bottle contains the youngest of malts which is 12 years, the rest would be a mix of other years from the same blend. During the tasting at the end of the tour he showed us that adding a few drops of water would bring out the taste. Dissipating the alcohol to let it through. I told him this was a whisky and “threat” he didn’t know that :)

Date of experience: September 2021
Thank The-Mutts-Nuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 September 2021 via mobile

My wife and I had a wonderful tour with David. The tour was interesting and informative, and David made it a relaxed and fun experience.

Date of experience: September 2021
Thank Z3624GWnickw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 September 2021 via mobile

We visited the distillery as a couple, including tour and tasting. Definitely recommended, the tour is super informative and gives deep insights. We booked the tour and tasting for 35£ per person, which I would highly recommend for anyone that is interested in whisky. This tasting offers an exciting range of not day-to-day whiskies. In any case, the opportunity to see this distillery and to taste their excellent whisky should not be missed

Date of experience: September 2021
Thank H7183ALjoelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 September 2021 via mobile

Brilliant distillery tour to start our Scotland trip. Not too long and not too short. Extremely informative and even had a chance to taste 3 different whiskys! We loved it and my partner who is obsessed with whisky was even given a cheeky fourth tasting from our guide Sam. Such a great experience highly recommend. The grounds of the distillery are also really lovely. Great pit stop

Date of experience: September 2021
Thank annxiao1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 September 2021 via mobile

Highly recommended Andrew was an excellent host very informative & knowledgeable, really enjoyed it we had a good laugh & a few tipples & discussions about taste as a none-drinker I went anyway ( got some whisky to stick in my ☕ worth going nice for presents & drinks also a cafe & ice-cream shop, need to wear a mask when standing together, thankyou Andrew it was great.

Date of experience: September 2021
Thank E9147CBkarenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews