We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Fabulous boat trip

We had a brilliant trip today with Crannog Cruises. The morning mist on the loch made for a really... read more

Reviewed yesterday
vivr113
,
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Great Views of Ben!

A really great way to see Fort William and Ben Nevis from the different view point. The boat is... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Ashleysmash1984
,
Harpenden
Read all 312 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Fort William
from US$65.44
More Info
from US$83.54
More Info
from US$375.95
More Info
from US$863.30
More Info
Reviews (312)
Filter reviews
312 results
Traveler rating
239
57
12
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
239
57
12
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews black rock salmon farm informative commentary boat trip great cruise deep sea diving mussels evening cruise seal island running commentary local knowledge stunning views skipper seals loch farming weather
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 312 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2021

We took a cruise to see Seal Island, basically a rock in Loch Linnhie. The skipper kept a running commentary while we cruised to our destination pointing out salmon and mussel farms. He also did a comedy act in between.
There were lots of seals to see and the boat moved around so that people got a good view.
The staff were wonderful and kind.

Date of experience: June 2021
1  Thank Gnomeontherange
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 July 2021

Wonderful boat trip!
With two stream train loving boys we did the 10am steam train cruise. We had stunning weather which obviously helped but we had a wonderful trip. Great views of the train. Interesting commentary throughout. The 1 hour cruise was the ideal length with a 3 and a 5 year old. Would definitely recommend crannog cruises for locals like us and visitors to the area!

Date of experience: July 2021
Thank 376rachd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 July 2021

We booked the lunchtime seal-island tour first week in July. Loved the trip, helped by stunning weather. Plenty of room for social distancing and having just finished walking the West Highland Way we were glad of the oportunity to sit down! The skipper provided a very informative commentry as we went along (including an obligatory Haggis two-short-legs, two-long-legs story) and we had plenty of time to view the seals before turning around. Would recommend this trip to anyone that wants to view the amazing scenery around Fort William including stunning views of Ben Nevis and would like to learn a little more about the loch and its wildlife.

Date of experience: July 2021
1  Thank Maddiesmum01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 July 2021

Excellent cruise on Saturday 26 June 2021 down Loch Linnhe from Fort William. Scenery was spectacular on a bright sunny day. We did the 1 1/2 hour Seal Island cruise. Boat was not too busy and we were able to move around to take photographs etc. Commentary was just right with some useful information about the surrounding area, the salmon and mussel farms and Seal Island and, of course, the seals. Not overbearing and with a touch of humour. A baby seal had been born on the island that morning which added to the interest. The bar was open downstairs; a little pricy but to be expected.

We would thoroughly recommend this cruise.

Date of experience: June 2021
Thank K2806OYgeorgep
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 July 2021 via mobile

90 minutes trip on the lock to the salmon farm, mussels farm and seal island. It was a reasonably warm day on the pier but became very cold on deck as soon as we set off. We were prepared but many weren’t and moved to more sheltered areas or the enclosed lounge and bar. We stayed on deck and it was considerably warmer after we’d been to our most southern point and then headed north back to the pier. Good commentary and views of Ben Ness.

Date of experience: June 2021
Thank 885gmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews