We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Ben Nevis
from US$112.10
More Info
from US$244.33
More Info
from US$149.97
More Info
from US$67.26
More Info
Reviews (2,512)
Filter reviews
2,512 results
Traveler rating
1,949
460
79
18
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,949
460
79
18
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hard slog coming down half way tourist path hard work highest mountain highest peak tough walk walking poles halfway point youth hostel warm clothes great climb take your time hiking boots mountain path well worth the effort
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 2,512 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It took us 7 hours in total to go up and then down to Ben Nevis. This is a challenge for sure and prepare your mind if you go for it! Make sure you are dressed well as it is quite humid at the beginning, then could be hot and rain go a few times. It is cold on the top! Good shoes are essential! Good jacket and climbing sticks are must! The last will save your knees and will help you to balance better! Get 1 little water, refill when you get to the waterfall and again on your way down! It is mostly cloudy on the top, so don’t have big expectations for the views from the post cards! They say it is sunny up there just 10 days in the year! Light snack is ok, no need to full your rucksack with a lot of food, there are no toilets up there! Just take time to enjoy the stunning views, take photos, enjoy and take regular breaks, it is not a competition, it is a joy! Good luck!

Date of experience: August 2021
1  Thank desito07
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Starting out at the visitors centre on a warm day my family and I started the long walk up the path to the summit. This was fairly easy to keep to, but it's wise to ensure you have a map and compass so you know you're on the right track.

Coming back down it had rained quite heavy so beware of changing conditions and have good footwear, as it is extremely slippy in places.

Date of experience: July 2021
Thank 629DavidR629
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Ben Nevis is a challenge not to be underestimated!! The hike to the top and back down again l, via the mountain path, took my me and family (12 year old & 14 old daughters) 7 hours in total to complete, this included a half an hour stop for lunch. From the bottom you will follow a path that is mostly steps but you will soon come across some areas that you will need to scramble over. The terrain from about half way up is then very rugged and just gets worse as you get to the top. This is not the steepest climb, but it is long (10 miles in total). If it is cloudy, as it was when we climbed, the ground becomes incredibly wet and slippery, and the air is very wet so waterproofs and a good pair of walking boots are a must.
Top tips from us: start early! Do your research on the mountain before you go! Make sure you have the night clothing packed… it was t shirt weather at the bottom, water proofs half way up and warm clothing at the top! If you don’t have to drag your dog through it, don’t!! We took our dogs and it was really hard going on them because of the terrain.
We parked at the visitor centre where there are toilets. The visitors centre closes at 4pm.

In all we loved the challenge. Enjoyed the hike and got a sense of achievement from it. We would absolutely do this again (without the dogs). The views are absolutely stunning.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank dawncT5583QB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My team and I did the National Three Peaks, and I have also done the CMD route to ben Nevis big old lump of mountain
.
Boots On Bag On Crack On

Date of experience: July 2021
Thank robustours
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A well marked path, mostly stony. Best to go early and check weather as it can change in an instant. We got glorious sunshine on the way up, saw great views and then the mist came in 5 minutes later. Rained all the way down. Also a little cool at the top so bring layers....and I envied the people that brought gloves!
Took 3 hours to get up and 2.5 to come down (slow because of the weather and how busy it got)

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank rubikon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews