We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,118)
Filter reviews
2,118 results
Traveler rating
532
782
453
186
165
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
532
782
453
186
165
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ash restaurant train station grand staircase limited parking central location hospitality tray twin room night break buffet breakfast public areas biscuits bottled water hotel restaurant location is excellent short break tea and coffee haggis
Filter
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 2,118 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

When trying to book, a woman on the phone laughed as we couldn't get a room. When we arrived, my mum was almost knocked over by an angry member of staff storming out of the hotel. We could not check in until 3 o'clock but we did not know this so when we arrived at 12, we had to walk around for 3 hours in the rain. The room had 2 twin beds but there was 3 of us. The bathroom had a leaky bathtub and an earwig crawled out from under a tile! We could not sleep due to the heat and the noise. The only good thing about the Royal Highland Hotel is the breakfast. A trainee was better at her job than the people at reception. Breakfast was delicious but that's the only good thing. Will definitely not be coming here again

Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
2  Thank xxhenderson12xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalHighlandHotel, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thank you for the kind review - while we have noted your observations and shall definitely initiate corrective actions wherever necessary and, we also apologise for any inconveniences.We would look forward to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 April 2018

My Husband and I were given a voucher for this Hotel at Christmas from our children. We stayed 2 nights with Breakfast and Dinner with a bottle of Wine on the 1st Night. The Hotel is lovely and has a grand old Staircase taking you to upper floors. We had a nice room on the 2nd floor. The hotel is old fashioned but delightful. Our room had everything we wanted from trouser press to lots of refreshments such as bottled water, coffee, various teas, hot chocolate and biscuits. The Hotel was very clean in the room, corridors and public areas. Our Dinner was served in The Ash Restaurant at the Hotel and was so good that we booked for the second night too. Large choice of Food and Drinks including Cocktails. The Breakfast was served in One of the Function Suites and there was lots to choose from including Full Scottish Breakfast, various cereals, toast, pastries, muffins, yogurts and fruits. The Staff were so friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank 58mags2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalHighlandHotel, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thank you for the kind review - we are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay and we would look forward to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Amazing location and 30 seconds walk from Inverness train station. Parking outside hotel is very limited but you can use the shopping centre car park for £5 per day. Hotel had lots of character and was very old. The floors were uneven and creaky. Lots of watermarks on ceilings and could do with a general face lift. It was however immaculate and the staff were friendly. Most hotels I’ve been to are under staffed but this place was over staff which made the service excellent. The staff were polite and friendly and even thought there was loads of them you didn’t really notice they were there. We stayed in room 121 and 122 which had no view and looked into vents and the train station. The door next to our room was actually the fire escape and it lead you down into the train station. You could here the trains and the tannoy announcements. This didn’t bother us as it added to the character of the room and since the trains stopped early evening it made it a very quite room. The food was excellent and fairly priced. 20% off vouchers had half price drinks vouchers were given to us at check in. There was an excellent Breakfast selection my only complaint was the croissants where hard at the edges and possible not fresh that day. The eggs were never soft but if you ask they will get you them anyway you like. The cheese Board for 2 was great value as was the afternoon tea.

The rooms were well equipped with tea and coffee facilities and with lovely bathroom amenities.

The tv in the room was large and had digital tv as well as an ironing board, iron sage and kettle.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank MRSNICOLAJOHNSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalHighlandHotel, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thank you for the kind review -we are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and we would look forward to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 March 2018

This top-level 3-star hotel is immediately adjacent to Inverness station and close to the main shopping centre. It is decorated to a high standard, with friendly, welcoming staff. My room was only a single, but it was clean, quiet, the furniture was good quality, the bed comfortable, and the bathroom had a bath with a rainfall shower. It is a large hotel, so may be popular with groups. I had lunch in the restaurant, which was good, and breakfast, which was buffet-style and also good. I paid £50 for bed and breakfast, booked some time in advance.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenshiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalHighlandHotel, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thank you for the kind review -we are delighted that you ad an enjoyable stay and we would look forward to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

One of the worst stays I have had in Invetness. The hotel would not let you book in 1 min before 3pm (even though we had just come from hospital and needed access to room) we had to sit outside the gents toilets for 1hour until 3PM ON THE DOT!! Then the room COSY double (my garage at home was bigger) yellow walls yuck windows rotten tv so low you could not lay and watch from the bed. Then the bed WORST BED I HAVE (NEVER) SLEPT ON. Premier inn give you king size postupedic beds.
We visited as my husband has cancer and needed to see a specialist but having spent one night at the hotel we should of just returned home and saved our money as this was in no way relaxing for him.
Then to top it all you are thrown out at 10am.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank bennetts63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalHighlandHotel, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thank you for the kind review - while we have noted your observations and shall definitely initiate corrective actions wherever necessary and, we also apologise for any inconveniences.We would look forward to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews