We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome find”

Sugarhouse Sandwiches
Ranked #6 of 200 Coffee & Tea in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$8
Cuisines: Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Neighborhood: Old Town
Description: Exploring the Royal Mile in Edinburgh can be exhausting work: Discover a hidden gem where all the food come with personal attention and a smile! Sugarhouse Sandwiches A small, privately owned sandwich shop/café/deli. Scottish breakfasts, Artisan bread, fresh deli, scones and cakes, Artisan locally roasted coffee, home made soups - vegetarian options always available.
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Walking down the Royal Mile in April snow we came across this place.
Small and cosy you could be eating in someones house - a very welcoming house too.
Food was delicious - excellent choice from soups, rolls, and panininis through to scones and cakes. Being five of us we tried a good selection and nothing was short of excellent.
Great coffee.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dpeters0n1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (373)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 20 of 373 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018

Genuinely warm friendly welcome
Beautiful homemade products at very reasonable prices.
Well recommended.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sandra1002018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Popped in here for tea and a scone as it looked promising from outside. Tea was weak and scone seemed undercooked and not very tasty. There are better places on the Royal Mile.

Thank Lyndsey_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don1801, Owner at Sugarhouse Sandwiches, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Weak tea? Did you allow time for brewing? Perhaps you are not familiar with leaf tea as apposed to tea bags. We recommend stirring and then it needs approximately 3-4 minutes to brew so that the full flavours develop in line with the preference of the consumer. I do wish you had mentioned something to us at the time, we would have explained this clearly to you and happily renewed your pot for you As for your observation about our buttery, home made scones, so sorry that they were not to your taste. We have received nothing but compliments from other visitors and the regular customers who come in daily especially to buy them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We stopped into Sugarhouse Sandwiches for a late breakfast after a busy morning walking around. While it had a very small dining in area, we found a seat with no problem. Service was friendly and prompt and the food completely delicious and icing on the cake, all inexpensive (5£ for full omelette breakfast). Don't miss this quaint cafe on your tour of Edinburgh!

Thank taytortot13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don1801, Owner at Sugarhouse Sandwiches, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

What lovely words, thank you. As a small family business we are always aware of the competition from large coffee chains and when customers take the time to share a good experience for others to read it makes our day,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here after our descent from Arthur’s seat. My wife had the omelette and I went with the large breakfast.

Both dishes were delicious, home made and had ingredients from the close by area. It’s a very small cafe, we were lucky to get a spot. As a dessert we had a piece of the home made lemon cake which was also delightful. Try it yourself, you won’t be disappointed!

Thank Philipp W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don1801, Owner at Sugarhouse Sandwiches, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to pen this lovely review, which ids very much appreciated. We hope you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugarhouse Sandwiches also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Sugarhouse Sandwiches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing