We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 07/28
Book now, pay at stay
US$221
US$184
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
US$292
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$199/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$119
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$143/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$126
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$165/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$146
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$217/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Edinburgh Marriott Hotel(Edinburgh)
US$159
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Murrayfield Hotel and House(Edinburgh)
US$109
US$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$139/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$110
ibis
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$141/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Inn Place(Edinburgh)
US$136
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 40% below average rates

The price you found is 40% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$202/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$82
ibis Budget
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$105/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (2,462)
Filter reviews
2,462 results
Traveler rating
584
1,023
587
181
87
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
584
1,023
587
181
87
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centrecool jadepentland hillsswimming poolexecutive roomtrouser pressleisure facilitiesday ticketbus stop rightreception stafffamily roomsofa bedbuffet stylebus servicestayed here for one nighttea and coffeehotel is situated
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 2,462 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Myself and my partner came to Edinburgh for 2 nights for a little trip away. This is going to be a very mixed review as despite our problems (keep reading) the staff were profession, friendly and helpful throughout the whole stay which has made us come away still feeling positive about our stay.

So, the first night we stayed was fine up until about 6am when we were woken by a distinct dripping sound! There was a leak coming from the roof which we reported in the morning and were immediately moved and upgraded to an executive room. The exec room was lovely, clean and we were very happy with the move. We then went out for the day and when we came back we just had a chilled evening in our room. At about 10.30pm, just as we were going to sleep, a loud noise started above our room - I can only describe it as what we thought was a tumbler dryer mixed with loud bass music, It was bizzare. Anyway, after a while we thought there’s no way we can get to sleep with it going on so we tried to phone down to reception to no avail. In the end we went downstairs to reception to complain, as it turns out the chap in the room next door to us was already down there complaining too. The staff moved us again, however we were told there were no more exec rooms left so we were downgraded back to a standard twin room. We were tired by this point so just wanted somewhere to put our heads. The next morning we debated whether to speak to management, I’ve never had to move rooms before in a hotel, never mind twice but we felt bugged by the inconvenience and despite being upgraded the first time, felt bugged again by the downgrade back.

Like I say, despite the problems, the staff were very attentive, apologetic and I felt they represented the company well to the point where I would still stay in Holiday Inns in the future. We were offered a partial refund the next morning which was a nice gesture.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Emma,

I'm sorry to hear of your inconvenience and the disappointments linked to it. This is a situation I'm already aware of as it's extremely rare/unheard of. It is something we are investigating. I'm pleased our team did our best to take care of you in the circumstances.

Many thanks,

Alan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Old 70s tower block type hotel next to the zoo. I found the rooms very disappointing especially when I paid over £100. Rooms like a budget hotel, very basic and old fashioned should be a lot less. Cheap basic toiletries, basic tv, no iron, very old mouldy bathroom, films that are charged £13!!! (They might get away with £2/3 but times have moved on since the internet) kind of sums up the hotel rather stuck in a time warp but still charging big prices. Bar area ok, pool very small don't expect a nice relaxing swim especially if your kids want to use it. Gym ok, food good quality but very small portions so again well over priced. Overall for the money you could do a lot better. It's ok, very much like a budget hotel but not worth anywhere near what I paid, feeling very ripped off. Long way out of town, easy bus outside and next to the excellent zoo. Gets busy with families because it's close to the zoo but if your going to spend over £120 mid week you can do a lot better. Should be more like half that.
Feels like they overcharge on everything because they have a constant captive family audience who probably never actually come back. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled on business
1  Thank monkeyhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Sir/Madam,

I'm sorry to hear that you had such a disappointing stay with us. I'd be happy to look into your stay in detail should you wish to contact me with your reservation details.

Many thanks,

Alan.

alan.hunter@hi-edinburgh.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Good bits.... clean, attentive front of house staff, free parking, next door to the zoo. Also has a starbucks on site. The lift was super fast although only 3 lifts for the high number of guests that were staying and some form of athletics event was being held there too.

Not so good: bathroom was tiny and looking at the door and floor prone to flooding. The tap in the sink was constantly in and you had to hold the back of the tap to get it to stay up (this may attribute to the flooding??). Was quite pricey for what we got, should probably have stayed with the inkeepers lodge booking at £40 less and paid for a taxi.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Anita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Anita,

Thank you for taking the time to feedback on your stay.

I'm disappointed to learn that you encountered issues during your stay. I've made sure that all comments are taken on board and passed to the relevant departmental managers.

It is good to hear that you felt there were positives, like our staff, and I thank you for those comments.

Many thanks,

Alan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Booked this hotel for location as planned to visit the zoo. Couldn’t recommend it enough, especially if you have small children. Staff so friendly and accommodating, and a small problem with our room was rectified immediately with no fuss.
Received 50% discount for the zoo along with 20% off our food and drinks bill (even though our daughter stayed and ate for free).
Restaurant/ bar and pool areas great and I can honestly say it was a pleasure to stay here.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
Thank Minfo08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for such a lovely review. I'm delighted you had such a great time, I'm also pleased you took full advantage of our loyalty programme to save some money! I am also very pleased you felt our excellent staff were there to help you at all times.

We do hope you will visit us again in the future.

Many thanks,

Alan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for one night whilst travelling down from Inverness to Durham. We wanted to explore city at the same time.
Good bus links to city centre and after we figured out stops total journey on bus took about 20 minutes.
Parked car behind the hotel and some of them are very tight for bigger cars.
Room was okay, very outdated, shower was freezing cold, pillows gave us stiff necks as either too soft or too firm. Couldn’t open the window and the water tab didn’t mix hot and cold together due to a division in the tab itself which was strange.
Breakfast was good and when asked for cheese we received some.
Overall okay for one night although bit overpriced.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Dear Maria,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.

I'm disappointed to learn you had a disappointing stay, your constructive feedback has been taken on board and I can feed this back to the relevant departmental managers.

Many thanks,

Alan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews