We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
24 Royal Terrace
Nearby Hotels
US$331
US$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$275
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$87
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Stay Central Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$85
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$169
US$141
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$178
US$167
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$266
US$246
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Edinburgh City Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$104
US$99
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$83
ibis Budget
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (407)
Filter reviews
407 results
Traveler rating
312
74
14
6
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
312
74
14
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboutique hotelwhite company productssound barbeautiful hotelno liftjunior suitelovely boutiquecobbled streetnicest hoteltop floorsingle roomroll top bathfree standing bathcarlton hillfull scottish breakfastsmall hotelhigh ceilings
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 407 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2018

We loved this boutique hotel. Great location on a relatively quiet street but walkable to center of town. Beautiful room with view of terraced gardens in the rear. Service from check-in throughout our 4-night stay was always friendly and helpful. Loved the small cocktail bar, with a great bartender. And the art collection was amazing!

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank TravelerJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivo T, Manager at 24 Royal Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Dear reviewer,

Thank you very much for your fantastic review!

I do hope you will visit us again soon!


Kind regards,
Ivo Tamahkyarov

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 April 2018

this hotel is a stunning mix of hotel/gallery/ cocktail - whisky bar with 16 rooms we had room 5 and faced onto the road however never heard the traffic and room was of a standard that would compete with a lot of 5 star hotels, the staff always there to help you and as it is a listed building there is no lifts but a lovely stair case with red carpet..

Stayed: March 2018
1  Thank tonyrjhamblin40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivo T, Manager at 24 Royal Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Dear Tony,

Many thanks for your lovely review!

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope you will visit us again soon!


Kind regards,
Ivo Tamahkyarov

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 March 2018

The hotel is very stylish - a must if you like contemporary art for the fabulous large paintings in the bar, stairs and hallways. We got a room on the top floor at the front which had a nice view to the Firth of Forth, but there is no lift, so a good climb. Superb breakfasts (especially the corn bread on a Tuesday), but beware ... the helpings are always big ! All the staff were very hospitable and helpful. Just 10 minutes or so to the station and town and Calton Hill is at the back of the hotel for fantastic views over the city.

Stayed: March 2018
1  Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivo T, Manager at 24 Royal Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Dear John,

Many thanks for your review and for giving us five stars!

We have some exciting new painting on display so hopefully you will visit us soon to appreciate and enjoy.


Kind regards,
Ivo Tamahkyarov

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

We had a wee last minute surprise visit to this lovely Gem in Edinburgh.
Staff were very courteous & professional.
Room was amazing and very comfortable with lovely quality fixtures& fittings. The furniture was of excellent quality too.
Definitely would go back here.
Also a 24 hr Bar

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Campbell69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivo T, Manager at 24 Royal Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your lovely feedback.

I hope you will visit us again soon!

Kind regards,
Ivo Tamahkyarov

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 March 2018

After all the reviews we were very disappointed with this hotel the room was just ok not luxury which is what we were expecting and our room for a twin was tiny the beds were virtually on each other !!! My stay in New York had a larger room and people complained about that and an old fashioned key system to get in and out of the door. Put the room too one side the service was fantastic and if you into art there are plenty things to look at. Breakfast on my side was just average I again didn't feel the taste of good quality produce for a full Scottish breakfast both the bacon and sausage were just ok!!! Definitely would not stay here again at the price for the room. Better places to stay at £200 a night.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank wgreenuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivo T, Manager at 24 Royal Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am equally disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay fully. We pride ourselves on being able to look after our guests with that exceptional touch, as well as on our luxury set up. This is evident from all the reviews on this platform, as you mentioned.
It would have been greatly appreciated to hear your feedback while you were staying with us as then we would have had the opportunity to go the extra mile and restore your faith in us.

I wish you happy travels!

Kind regards,
Ivo Tamahkyarov

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews