We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
6 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$132
Hotels.comUS$132
eDreamsUS$132
TravelocityUS$132
PricelineUS$132
getaroom.comUS$218
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,236)
Filter reviews
3,236 results
Traveler rating
635
1,134
838
366
263
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
635
1,134
838
366
263
Show reviews that mention
All reviews princes street scott monument castle view waverley station christmas market excellent location superior room old town edinburgh city few minutes walk short break royal mile haggis jenners tram
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 3,236 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at the mercure on princes street Edinburgh on 4th September 2021 for my niece’s birthday treat we had x 2 twin rooms that cost over £150 each room for 1 night and they were run down and dirty, it was a very big let down. Toilet were disgusting, very dirty and run down, the beds moved on wheels if you leaned against them they rolled across the room and holes in the ceiling in the room. Toilet was think with dirt, ceiling, cracked tiles and floor coming away from the floor, totally below standard and definitely not like the pictures advertised on their website. Would not recommend this hotel and feel bad for any tourists turning up to these rooms. Have sent a complaint through resolver and not heard anything back from mercure after 2 emails they need to give rooms a deep clean and decorate them. They advertised a cocktail menu then advised they don’t do cocktails and the latte’s were like hot milk. Overall was a 1 star was so disappointed and felt sorry for my niece as it was a birthday treat. Hoping to get compensation but not holding my breath. Stay elsewhere would be my advice.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank karent89
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having stayed here before we knew the position of the hotel was perfect for us ,
The way the hotel are dealing with all the COVID 19 procedures are perfect and felt extremely safe
Our room was fantastic with the perfect view of Edinburgh castle ,Walter Scott monument and Arthur’s seat , when the cloud allowed lol

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Nic00498
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Mercure was a great disappointment and the first small room a disgrace....chipped paint and tiles, carpet stained, the one chair in room falling apart. WE complained and were given an upgraded room that was a little larger and more up-to-date. But still no air-conditioning and as on Princes Street had to open windows to noisy street.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank agoldstein2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Dispute a discription offering great views the below is what we received. On questioning we're fobbed off. Now I didn't expect the greatest view as we booked a classic room but the attraction to us was the boast about the city views so didn't expect scaffolding.
The rooms are dated and basic and the manager unhelpful

This I believe is the first negative review I have ever given. But so disappointed

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Robwwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews