We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,547)
Filter reviews
1,547 results
Traveler rating
1,067
350
86
26
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,067
350
86
26
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews skerries restaurant city centre the main house boutique hotel luxury room lovely hotel bus stop right four poster bed minute walk kippers haymarket station nespresso machine busy road breakfast was excellent an upgrade main road the ground floor
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 1,547 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2018

I have stayed here twice now and ech time I have enjoyed the comfort and service of the Dunstane houses. Very friendly, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and so was the dinner menu that has recently been added. There is a road to cross between the houses, it is fine to cross but be aware if you have elderly members in your party that have restricted mobility(ask to stay in Dunstane House rather than Hampton court). Highly recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank loraccarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Hi there

Thank you so much for your review of our Hampton House. Thank you for choosing to stay with us again and we are delighted that you enjoyed our small 'improvements' - we are continuing to add services and change menus etc to ensure we are always providing the best service we can.

I hope we can welcome you a third time!

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 April 2018

From the moment we walked through the door, we instantly felt like we were home. We felt genuinely cared for as guests, every need was tended to. The Dunstane Houses and staff are warm, welcoming, thoughtful, and fun!

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank shannonjones819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Hi there

thank you so much for such a kind and considered review. We really appreciate your feedback and the staff will be delighted that you mentioned them as they do so well! We really do try to be a friendly yet knowledgeable team and I am pleased you benefited from this. I look forward to seeing you again at the hotel.

Best wishes,
Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 April 2018 via mobile

happened to chose Ba'Bar at the Dunstane as it was nearby and my colleague expressed a wish to try local cuisine. we were not disappointed. service pleasant and efficient, my prawn tempura and fishcakes were delicious. good portions and price reasonable. good choice of local food and beverages.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled on business
Thank WelshwizardK10D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Hi there.

Thank you so much for reviewing your experience in our Ba' Bar in Dunstane House and thanks for popping by! Delighted you enjoyed the food, we have just launched our new spring menu so the feedback is much appreciated. I do hope we can see you again in the Ba' Bar there are so many dishes to try!

Best wishes,

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Don’t be fooled by the photos and description. We booked on an app that showed only the nice rooms. When we arrived we were escorted across the street into a dumpy building and down into a dumpy basement and into a tiny dumpy room.

Not at all pleased. Totally different hotel. They knowingly misrepresent. The room was dank and mildewy. We left after an hour and they did not make the process easy.

Shame on them and their deception. Absolutely don’t book or stay here.

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with friends
4  Thank theocanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hello there

What a surprising review to come across - considering all the glowing praise from the rest of the feedback on Trip Advisor. We do not actually have a record of you staying with us at all so not sure if you have even experienced the hotel to be able to pass comment. All of our marketing is comprehensive and explains about our two buildings, different rooms types, different sizes of rooms etc. It is up to you to pick to room that best suits your needs.

If you wish to contact me directly to address any legitimate concerns about the hotel please do.

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2018

We had an absolutely perfect stay at Dunstane House. The rooms were so comfortable and quiet (not to mention gorgeous!). The food and drinks were delicious and the staff were helpful and nice! With public transportation just steps away, it was easy to get to downtown. We will definitely stay here on our next trip to Edinburgh. 5+ stars!

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ClariceC68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Hi there ClariceC68

Thank you so much for that WONDERFUL review, I am absolutely thrilled that we lived up to all your expectations and you had a great stay with us. It's great that we are now your hotel of choice in Edinburgh! What a compliment! I look forward to meeting you personally on your next visit.

Best wishes,

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews