We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal yacht Britannia”

Royal Yacht Britannia
Ranked #3 of 395 things to do in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Step aboard The Queen's former floating palace and experience this iconic 5 star attraction for yourself. Rated Scotland's Best Attraction for 12 years running and in TripAdvisor's UK Top 10 for the last 5 years, Britannia is one of the most famous ships in the world. Sailing a million miles on a thousand official visits, during 40 years in service, the Royal Yacht played host to glittering state banquets and official receptions, but was also home to the Royal Family and crew of 220 Royal Yachtsmen. Explore Britannia's highly accessible 5 decks with highlights including the elegant Royal Apartments, Crew's Quarters, Engine Room and stunning Royal Deck Tea Room. Highly accessible for wheelchairs and buggies. Open year round .Only 15 minutes from Edinburgh city centre (local buses every 10 minutes - 11, 22, 34 and 35 to Ocean Terminal).
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

This is an excellent exhibit to visit to see a bit of royal life. We bought the Edinburgh Majestic bus tour with this entrance fee included. Really appreciated the care taken and pride in heritage displayed. We had a cream tea in the tearoom which was excellent. Would highly recommend.

Thank Peg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliot J, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Yacht Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

It is great to learn that you had such a wonderful experience on board Britannia, and that you enjoyed a visit to our Royal Deck Tea Room. The cream tea, with our freshly baked scones, is indeed not to be missed! Thank you for visiting Britannia, and for your kind recommendation, we really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (19,350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"tea room"
in 1,352 reviews
"engine room"
in 901 reviews
"shopping centre"
in 750 reviews
"ocean terminal"
in 769 reviews
"own pace"
in 1,014 reviews
"audio guide"
in 1,221 reviews
"beautiful ship"
in 190 reviews
"crew quarters"
in 174 reviews
"other half"
in 410 reviews
"scones"
in 722 reviews
"top deck"
in 250 reviews
"fascinating insight"
in 242 reviews
"afternoon tea"
in 376 reviews
"interesting visit"
in 249 reviews
"fudge"
in 341 reviews
"well worth the visit"
in 273 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 410 reviews
Filter

1,527 - 1,531 of 19,350 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018

Very good tour, a little pricey, but well run. The weather was the unfortunate element in our visit: there's a fair bit out on deck, which we couldn't really enjoy. Headset commentary and uniformed staff made for an interesting and informative visit. Glad we went!

Thank conamore56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliot J, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Yacht Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your tour of Britannia, and found it to be so well organised, and our complimentary handheld guide so informative. For the information of others, admission to Britannia is less than other top Edinburgh attractions and includes a complimentary audio guide as well as an Annual Pass which allows each visitor to return, free of charge, for a year. Thank you for visiting, and for taking the time to leave us a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Always wanted to go aboard the Royal yacht after seeing it leave Portsmouth for the last time, So we put it on the do-list when we visited Edinburgh this Easter, To be honest we were well impressed with the whole experience , Easy free parking, quick flowing queue to start the tour with easy to use multi language hand sets that talked you thru the whole ship at your leisure, we took time out to have afternoon tea on the upper covered deck, the service was second to none and the cakes were to die for, a very good informative tour, and on exit you are spoilt for choice in a large shopping mall that has something for everybody. They have done the old ship proud.

Thank AUSSIE364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliot J, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Yacht Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you for your kind recommendation of us as a “must-see attraction” in Edinburgh. We are pleased to learn that you had such an enjoyable experience exploring all five of Britannia’s decks, and found our complimentary audio guide, available in 30 languages, so informative. A visit to our Royal Deck Tea Room is a wonderful way to complete your tour, and the homemade cakes are indeed delicious!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

A very interesting piece of Royal history, reasonable admission and option for an annual pass - free! Location is attached to a shopping mall with many stores and restaurants. A good way to adjust after the red eye. Public transportation from Edinburgh or a short drive.

Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliot J, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Yacht Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

We are glad to learn that you found the tour of Britannia to be so interesting. As you mention, a tour of Britannia can be combined with a visit to the many shops and restaurants in Ocean Terminal, and is easily accessible from Edinburgh City Centre, with bus numbers 11, 22, and Skylink 300 all departing regularly. Many thanks for visiting Britannia!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

We went as they first opened as we have 2 small children and they're not the most patient of kids so the quieter the better. Plenty of free parking there. The staff were very nice and good with the kids. The audio tour is included and very informative. There's lots to see of a world we don't normally experience and very little off limits which is nice. Theres even a sweet shop you can try the ships homemade fudge too. It isn't cheap but not something you see every day either.

Thank Bubblefish77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliot J, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Yacht Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

It is lovely to learn that your tour of Britannia was such an excellent experience that was enjoyed by the whole family. A visit to the original NAAFI to sample some of the wonderful fudge, made on board by our Resident Confectioner, Poppy, is indeed not to be missed. For the information of others, admission to Britannia is less than other top Edinburgh attractions and includes a complimentary audio guide as well as an Annual Pass which allows each visitor to return, free of charge, for a year. Thank you for visiting Britannia, and taking the time to leave us a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Yacht Britannia also viewed

 

Been to Royal Yacht Britannia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing