We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sunday Lunch”
Review of Quins

Quins
Ranked #4 of 53 Restaurants in Galashiels
Price range: US$4 - US$27
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Fresh quality food cooked to order, serving Evening Meals, Lunch, Breakfast and delicious Home-baking, Professional but friendly service. Lovely ambient and welcoming atmosphere. Private Room available for Dining and parties.
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Visited here for a late sunday lunch on our way home from a trip to Hawick. The staff were nice and friendly and the restaurant very bright and clean.

We had 2 main courses of Fish and Chips and a Prawn Mushroom on a Ciabatta, both were tasty.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tobester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuinsGalashiels, Owner at Quins, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Glad you enjoyed, our fresh fish is supplied by a merchant in Edinburgh who has supplied Quins for 10 years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (325)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 325 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

My wife and I often drop in for lunch. Service warm and friendly while food is always delicious. I recommend the sausages in a roll. Toilets very clean and the place always very busy which is a good sign!

Thank Hugh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuinsGalashiels, Owner at Quins, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Many thanks for your review. I will pass on you comments to the lady responsible for doing the cleaning in Quins, she will be well pleased! Our sausages are supplied by our butcher who has supplied our meat for many years and the rolls are fresh from our local baker in a Gala.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 October 2017

No problem catering for 7 including 2 boys aged 5 and 3. Staff very personable and welcoming. Very good with the children.
Food was plentiful, tasty and reasonably priced.
We will certainly go back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dave1966-78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuinsGalashiels, Owner at Quins, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

The staff here are excellent in kitchen and front of house and appreciate your comments very much. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Last minute lunch stop for 7 - so glad we came here. Plenty of space, didn't feel at all cramped. Staff were very friendly and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. Food great - good choice for adults and children. Love it when you get a decent latte that automatically comes hot. This was definitely the best I've had in a very long time. If you get the chance, you should read the poem about Quin's mystery. VERY funny - so much so we'd tears of laughter rolling down our cheeks. We'll definitely be back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LauraC0704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuinsGalashiels, Owner at Quins, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thank you very much for your review. Glad you enjoyed the poem, this is a true story about someone who left their false teeth in the ladies toilet. It was probably written about 9 years ago by a local lady., and I agree it is very funny!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 September 2017

This bright bistro is conveniently located in the town center. Two of us had the Mille Feuille (sautéd mushrooms in a garlic cream with fresh spinach & pastry), which was lovely, & my other half was pleased to find poached haddock in parmesan (most places had it breaded). Mars bar cheesecake was a fun dessert option. Car park is across the street (by Tesco).

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lorraine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuinsGalashiels, Owner at Quins, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Thank you for your review, hope you enjoy your holiday on Scotland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quins also viewed

Galashiels, Scottish Borders
Galashiels, Scottish Borders
 
Melrose, Scottish Borders
Galashiels, Scottish Borders
 
Galashiels, Scottish Borders
Galashiels, Scottish Borders
 

Been to Quins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing