We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gordon Ramsey overload”

Oban Fish and Chip Shop
Ranked #15 of 90 Restaurants in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$27
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Seafood Restaurant And Take-away Offering A Wide Variety Of Local Sustainable Fish And Shellfish As Well As Traditional Meals.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I always get confused on whether it's this fish and chip shop or Nories down the road that had the Gordon Ramsey visit because both chippies have his mug on their advertising :-)

Gordon Ramsey aside, this is a good fish and chippy and our second visit for takeaway. Proper fish and chips and the queues outside prove it.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SamanthaMartini
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,962)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 20 of 1,962 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The owner has gone to the trouble of printing out a poster of Gordon Ramsey with his perfunctory endorsement. Well the reality is that this place is just a chippy, an overpriced one at that, where they charge you to sit down, where they pretend to hear extra orders and where the owner is so full of himself is that if he could get covered in his overhyped batter he'd eat himself in 2 bites. Avoid

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mouzi50
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Really good fish and chips - freshly cooked and very tasty. Reasonably priced, good service, and a good variety of choice on the menu.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank babykong
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Quite pricey if you decide to sit in, we’ll worth getting a box and heading to the water. But very friendly service and great food.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Maxs_Trip_Tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 August 2021

We arrived in Oban after a long drive and all we wanted was a quick bite to eat.

Not only did every restaurant turn us away claiming they were fully booked even though we could see tables free, most establishments were very unfriendly.

Just before we gave up we decided to just try one last place, for fish and chips.

What a welcome.
What an amazing dinner of scallops and king prawns and fish.
We were permitted to use the toilet facilities which was great.

Huge thanks to the staff and or owner who made us feel welcome in Oban and fed us the best food Oban has to offer.

In essence we won’t rush back for any other food establishment except this special place.

Highly Recommend

Thanks again

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Travelwithme47
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oban Fish and Chip Shop also viewed

 
Oban, Argyll and Bute
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Oban Fish and Chip Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.