We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous fish and chips”

George Street Fish Restaurant & Chip Shop
Ranked #19 of 98 Restaurants in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Takeout
Description: Restaurant serving a range of fresh Scottish seafood, steaks and fine wines. Fish & Chip Shop situated next-door, providing traditional takeaway fish and chips and old favourites.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Restaurant only small but also seating upstairs. Fish and chips were amazing. Young girl who served us was lovely

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John995, Owner at George Street Fish Restaurant & Chip Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Linda

Thanks for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review.
We're so happy you enjoyed your fish and chips and we are happy to hear our staff served you well.
We look forward to welcoming you back for more delicious fish and chips soooooooon.

Kind regards
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (763)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 763 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Late lunchtime visit with my mother for the George Street Haddock Tea. The service was friendly and welcoming and quietly efficient. The menu was filled with tempting offers but it had to be the Haddock Tea. This arrived within a very short wait after our order had been taken and tea served. The meal itself was superb, really fresh haddock in a wonderful light batter, great chips and a side of mushy peas. The home made Tartare sauce was good and the bread and butter nice and fresh too.
I’ve eaten many take away fish suppers from here and enjoyed dining in. Never been disappointed, ever !
Dining in gives you the opportunity of sampling some of the alcoholic drinks on offer, including a very Italian Aperol Spritzer, Prosecco, limoncello and some local Loch Fyne Ales.
If you’re visiting Oban make sure you at least get a take away supper for a wee wander on the pier. Not to be missed !

Thank andrewjm1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John995, Owner at George Street Fish Restaurant & Chip Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Andrewjm1968

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review, you've touched on all aspects of our business, the takeaway, restaurant and drinks. We really couldn't have asked for a better review.

We are so glad you enjoyed your dining experience and we hope to welcome you back again really soon.

Kindest regards

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice and cosy. Food amazing. Squid rings plus grilled halibut for me and fish and chips for my boyfriend. The owner is very kind with guests. I like this place and is 100\5 approved

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CarmenAndre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John995, Owner at George Street Fish Restaurant & Chip Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Carmen

Thanks for your lovely review, it’s a real pleasure to serve people like you and you’re partner. It was lovely to meet and chat with you both.
We hope to serve you some more delicious fresh fish in the future.

Kindest regards
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Really great fish and chips done very well and toy never have to wait long. There is always a que which says something!

1  Thank Kirsty Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John995, Owner at George Street Fish Restaurant & Chip Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Kirsty,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a fabulous review, we really appreciate this.
Hope to see you again soon, for some more delicious fish and chips.

Kind regards
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic place always spot on highly recommendit. Friendly staff great food can't go wrong .We always come here when visiting oban . Will be here again no doubtc

Thank Salim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John995, Owner at George Street Fish Restaurant & Chip Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Salim

Thanks for such a lovely review, we look forward to serving you some delicious fish again soon.

Kind regards
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George Street Fish Restaurant & Chip Shop also viewed

 
Oban, Argyll and Bute
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to George Street Fish Restaurant & Chip Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing