We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
FindHotel
Trip.com
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (554)
Filter reviews
554 results
Traveler rating
437
91
14
7
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
437
91
14
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dog friendly hotel conservatory restaurant homemade jams islay and jura green eggs sandy beach real ale owners and staff stunning views perfect hosts excellent food relaxing break could not have been more return visit fantastic location little gem porridge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 554 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I have stayed here numerous times and will continue to do so when time permits. We love it here, both the hotel and the area.
Ian and Nick always make us feel very welcome and they are perfect hosts.
The food is excellent, tasty and plentiful. The breakfast is superb and very substantial.
Over the last couple of years the bedrooms and public spaces have been refurbished or upgraded. Everywhere now looks good and is comfortable.
Sitting on the terrace or in the restaurant in the evening watching the magnificent sunsets is a sight to behold and will make many wonderful memories.

Room tip: We’ve been happy with whatever room we’ve been given.
Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for four nights in August and enjoyed every minute of it. Nick and Ian were superb hosts and have obviously put an emphasis on quality.

Our room (facing the sea) was spotlessly clean, modern and bright. It was a delight to leave the window open and fall asleep with the sound of waves breaking on the beach only a few yards away.

There is a wonderful outdoor terrace area and we were fortunate enough to enjoy a few cold beverages in the beautiful Scottish sunshine whilst gazing out on the sea.

Eating options in Campbeltown 15 mins away looked a little limited so we had evening meals in the hotel each night. Not something we regretted. The restaurant area enjoys panoramic views out over the sea towards Islay and Jura and the food every night was just magnificent. The menu didn't change but there were easily enough options to ensure we didn't have the same dish more than once. And as for breakfast? Absolutely delicious every morning.

Can't praise the hotel and it's staff highly enough. Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable.

Room tip: Definitely worth paying the extra for a sea facing room.
Date of stay: August 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NeilBremner
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 August 2021

Just returned from a 2 night stay. Ian & Nick welcoming hosts. Room clean and comfortable. Accessible beach from hotel which never had more than half a dozen people on it - lovely white sands. Terrace and restaurant look out over the sand/sea - wonderful views. Many choices at breakfast and large portions - filled us for the rest of the day! We ate both nights in the restaurant - nice food although limited choice. Would definitely stay again.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Carlisles
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 July 2021 via mobile

Do not be put off by the reviews if you are coming for food. We didn’t use the hotel but we had dinner on a Friday night here and it was so lovely. I had the pie and my partner the beef burger. Really really lovely - would recommend for food as I can’t comment on the hotel situation!

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank victoriaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 July 2021 via mobile

We had previously visited the Argyll hotel under different management about ten years ago and vowed never to visit again, so dire was the service and the establishment.We decided to visit again as we were in the area and the hotel was under new management.
Setting:
The hotel looks onto a white sand beach with a sky blue sea ( just imagine the Bahamas) , which always seemed to have no more than five people even on the sunniest of days! The view Gigha and Cara are also superb.
Restaurant :
Nick and Ian were very friendly ,welcoming and great hosts. The menu was varied and interesting and the food very well cooked ,presented ,prompt and reasonably priced .I had the variety of local smoked fish , venison medallions and raspberry roulade and my partner the mussels, chicken burger and ice cream all of which was excellent. The drinks menu had a fantastic selection of Scottish Gins ( 30 +) which were all perfectly matched with the appropriate mixers and garnishes - as good or if nor better than many of the bars in Glasgow.
The hosts were also very accommodating when it came to our puppy and spoiled her rotten when we were in the restaurant and really were “dog friendly”.
When we visit Kintyre again we not hesitate in dining there again and heartily recommend it to anyone passing by on their way to Campbeltown.

Room tip: Remember to book ahead as the restaurant has a reduced number of seats due to COVID restrictions.
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Wanderer22904527596
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews