We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$114
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
FindHotel
$110
View deal
Expedia.com$114
Priceline
ZenHotels.com$124
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,586)
Filter reviews
2,586 results
Traveler rating
1,069
839
401
176
101
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,069
839
401
176
101
Show reviews that mention
All reviews leisure facilities lovely hotel an upgrade changing rooms sauna and steam room both mornings relaxing break short break junior suite overnight stay enjoyable stay staff were excellent cooked breakfast waiting staff broughty ferry first class night break
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 2,586 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2022

Apart from my first impression of the hotel building. which was short lived excellent place to stay.
rooms clean and comfortable. food excellent not a lot of choice but a few items done well.
enjoyed my stay and would not hesitate to return.

Date of stay: June 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ally1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Gordon MacKintosh, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2022

Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2022

Lovely hotel. Room was nice and clean although the temperature was very warm during the night even with windows open. Leisure facilities are excellent. Spa treatments were outstanding. Lunch in the hotel was lovely.
Unfortunately breakfast wasn’t as I’d hoped. We waited for over 50 minutes after ordering our cooked breakfast. No explanation or apology, in fact no heads up at all that there would be a delay. No one asked if, while we waited whether we wanted more coffee or tea (we’d finished beverages long before breakfast finally arrived). When the cooked breakfast arrived the eggs were solid and other items looked and tasted like they’d been sitting in a warmer for a long time.
Having stayed before and thoroughly enjoying breakfast I hope this was a one off.
It didn’t detract much from our stay which we thoroughly enjoyed but it was a bit of an annoyance to an otherwise great break.

Date of stay: June 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Yasmar68
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Gordon MacKintosh, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2022

Thank you very much for your comments which we note.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2022 via mobile

Really good stay as part of a golf trip

We upgraded to a sea view junior suite and recommend others to do so if you want a view/ more space

Room was great. Well appointed with excellent shower. Tea/ coffee replenished daily and generally well cleaned

Leisure club had great pool / steam/ sauna/ jacuzzi for post golf relaxation

Breakfast was outstanding. Served overlooking the first tee. Had dinner there twice too and that was of solid standard

Nice lunch menu after golf too

Special mention to Pauline in the restaurant who was outstanding

Only slight negatives were - one day our bathroom wasn’t cleaned properly and some of the furnishings in the restaurant/ bar are showing serious signs of wear and tear

Take those out of the picture and it’s 5 stars. Very impressed and will be back

Good job

Room tip: Pay for a sea view Pack your trunks
Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank dickyd2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Gordon MacKintosh, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2022

Thank you very much for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2022

This hotel is amazing with super friendly staff . The room we had was the Paul Lawrie junior suite. The room was large and with amazing views overlooking the golf course. The room was absolutely spotless and very comfortable.

Date of stay: June 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mangyGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Gordon MacKintosh, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2022

Thank you, delighted you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2022

On arrival, receptionist very abrupt and not very welcoming.
Hotel bedrooms in need of updating, very poor furnishings for a 4 star hotel.
Also Public areas in need of updating, chairs very threadbare and in need of replacing, outside patio in need of TLC- very weedy around paving slabs.Pool area very outdated
Staff very friendly and helpful in restaurant and bar area which thankfully made up for the rest.
All very disappointing compared to the welcome and facilities at the Carnoustie club house and Rookery.

Room tip: Worth putting up with if you get a good golf deal, otherwise would not choose to stay.
Date of stay: June 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimbunps
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Gordon MacKintosh, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2022

Thank you for posting your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews