We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and fantastic view”
Review of The Silver Darling

The Silver Darling
Ranked #43 of 747 Restaurants in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$41
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Dine with a view...our newly refurbished restaurant is now open. Join us to experience our stunning setting, stylish interiors & quality food & drink offering.
Reviewed 11 April 2018

Small but rellay nice place with fantastic view to the harbor and the ocean. Young and smiling ladies give us a great service. The fish is very good there and my best recommendation is the scallops.
If I come again to Aberdeen I will definitely come back again to have more of this exceptionally good fish.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pétur Bjarni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilverDarling86, Manager at The Silver Darling, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Hi there Petur Bjarni G,

Thanks for your review and positive feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience at The Silver Darling.

Hope to see you again soon,

Thanks, Barbara - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (742)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 70 of 742 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

Whilst we had a lovely meal and the staff were all very friendly, the restaurant has lost some of its edge. We visited a year ago and the experience was very different, gone is the fine dining feeling but it’s been replaced with a more mainstream feel. Still nice food but more akin to good pub grub

6  Thank Libby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilverDarling86, Manager at The Silver Darling, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Hi there Libby P,

Thanks for your review.

We are delighted that you had a lovely meal but disheartened to read that you feel the restaurant has 'lost some of its edge'.

In our re-launch of The Silver Darling, we feel we have retained the charm and character but we wanted to relax the style of the restaurant with more modern and stylish interiors that would ultimately showcase our stunning setting at its very best.

Our passion for quality food and drink remains the same with the finest selection of Scottish produce from Aberdeen Angus Beef to the freshest fish and shellfish dishes on offer but this can now be enjoyed in a laid-back yet sophisticated atmosphere.

We do hope to see you again soon.

Thank you, Barbara - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 April 2018

Sunday lunch here today. The setting by the harbour is stunning - we didn't see any dolphins but apparently they are often spotted. The interior is seaside-themed in blues and greys, and it's quite small so not too many covers and it feels calm and peaceful. All the young servers were friendly and helpful. And the food - just wonderful. We started with very tasty haggis and black pudding croquettes in a whisky cream sauce, and seared Shetland scallops, done to melt-in-the-mouth perfection. Then we had beautifully tender lightly smoked venison with pearl barley and roast cauliflower, and pan-seared halibut with a parmesan crust and pesto mash. The halibut was truly excellent. Of the pudding we chose, I'd say the orange and rosemary creme brulee won over the lemon meringue cheesecake. Three courses plus wines and coffee £100. Worth every penny for a treat. I gather it's under new ownership; never having been before we can't compare but we will certainly go back. The only comment i'd make is that the online booking still says it's closed on Sundays, but it is most definitely open.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank UkLoLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilverDarling86, Manager at The Silver Darling, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Hi there UkLolo,

Thank you for your recent review and such positive comments following your Sunday lunch with us.

We have passed your kind comments on to the team and we hope to see you again soon.

Thank you, Barbara - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

Visited last night with my parents. As always a beautiful setting (and even saw a dolphin or its fin atleast). First visit since under new ownership.
Food was fabulous, we all tried something different off the menu. The hallibut was fabulous and lobster bisque very tasty.
Menu more accesible price wise. Same with wine menu (a good valpollicello ripasso £30).
Thai mussels lacked zing in the broth but the catch of the day cod got 11/10. Top choice.
I finished off with an orange and rosemary creme brulee. Flavours were subtle and a light ending to a beautiful meal.
A lovely atmosphere and nice buzz about the place.
Have no hesitations. Support local and you will have a fabulous evening. Looking forward to our return.

Thank strippier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilverDarling86, Manager at The Silver Darling, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Hi there Strippier,

Thanks for your review and great comments following your recent visit to The Silver Darling.

Delighted that you enjoyed your food and overall experience with us and hope to see you again soon.

Thanks again, Barbara - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Have not been for years. Voucher given by son
First the good news. Great location Food interesting but not memorable
Not so good. No one offered to take our coats which ended up on seats at our table.
Never asked about drinks at table. No table cloths - wood effect plain tables - would certainly have expected linen table cloths in an expensive fine dining restaurant.
Cutlery wrapped in paper napkins. No side plates. No bread offered. Had to ask for it. Soft bread with rock hard butter. Soup cool , excuse was that it came from the kitchen in the basement ( when heated up was excellent)
The food good but not fine dining. Not sure where it wants to place itself. More like a Brasserie
May return but will consult other diners

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank DRGMCI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilverDarling86, Manager at The Silver Darling, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Hi there DRGMCI,

Thanks for your review. We are disaapointed to read of some issues following your visit.

We have recently refurbished the restaurant and we have opted to create a relaxed vibe with modern and stylish interiors that help to complement our stunning setting.

We do take on board your comments re. service and some food issues and will speak to the relevant teams.

We do hope to see you again soon.

Thanks, Barbara - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Silver Darling also viewed

Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to The Silver Darling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing