We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday celebration! ”
Review of Bistrot Pierre

Bistrot Pierre
Ranked #24 of 455 Restaurants in Newport
Price range: US$13 - US$25
Description: Enjoy freshly prepared French food in the heart of Newport. Located in Friars Walk shopping centre on the bank of the River Usk close to the Riverfront Theatre and Arts Centre, our bistrot offers a stylish, relaxing place in which to enjoy affordable French-style dishes, freshly prepared by our chefs every day. Inspired by our travels around France and beyond our menus combine bistrot classics with new seasonal dishes. Why not try our incredibly popular Prix fixe lunch menu where you can enjoy 2 courses for £12.95, or our 2 course Early Evening menu for £15.95? Whether you’re on a shopping trip, lunching with friends, fancy a relaxed family meal or a celebratory dinner, our bistrot is the perfect place to eat in Newport. Open 7 days a week for breakfast, lunch and dinner, we have something for everyone including gluten-free, vegan and vegetarian options. Our bar also provides you with the perfect space to relax with friends and family and enjoy a drink of your choice.
Restaurant details
Description: Enjoy freshly prepared French food in the heart of Newport. Located in Friars Walk shopping centre on the bank of the River Usk close to the Riverfront Theatre and Arts Centre, our bistrot offers a stylish, relaxing place in which to enjoy affordable French-style dishes, freshly prepared by our chefs every day. Inspired by our travels around France and beyond our menus combine bistrot classics with new seasonal dishes. Why not try our incredibly popular Prix fixe lunch menu where you can enjoy 2 courses for £12.95, or our 2 course Early Evening menu for £15.95? Whether you’re on a shopping trip, lunching with friends, fancy a relaxed family meal or a celebratory dinner, our bistrot is the perfect place to eat in Newport. Open 7 days a week for breakfast, lunch and dinner, we have something for everyone including gluten-free, vegan and vegetarian options. Our bar also provides you with the perfect space to relax with friends and family and enjoy a drink of your choice.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited the Newport restaurant to celebrate a family birthday. The manager was excellent arranging the balloons and cake that I dropped off in advance to surprise my wife. The service received from Maria and Kitti was excellent, thank you so much for making our day, nothing was too much trouble. The food was also excellent as usual. 5* Thank you!

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank t0ky0j03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBPNewport, General Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi,
Thank you for your lovely feedback. We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your last visit. We will be sure to pass this on to the whole team and we hope to see you again very soon!
Regards,
Antonio
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 1,205 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I went for a lunch at this restaurant yesterday. It was our first eat-out since the lockdown. The welcome from the staff was warm and joyful. We were asked to sign in digitally and then we were shown to our table. It was a table for two and it had a screen on one side. The next table also had a screen on one side and do it felt as if we were in a booth. We felt totally safe and the social distancing was spot on. Our server was Lucy, and I must say that she was exemplary. We were not kept waiting and our order was taken with a smile ( Lucy had a mask on, but we knew she was smiling because her eyes were ‘smiling’). I ordered the house burger and my wife had risotto vert, then I had creme caramel and my wife had Eaton mess. The food was fabulous. The visit to Bistro Pierre for lunch was simply perfect.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank pdsfinance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBPNewport, General Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello There pdsfinance,

What a wonderful read this is.
We thrive to make sure all our customers are given a five star service.
Its lovely to see that our wonderful waitress lucy looked after you and made your visit an enjoyable one.
I will of course pass your kind words onto her.
We hope that you join us again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Nabeel Al-Sayyar
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went for evening meal tonight and the service was so slow , the only decent thing about the meal was the drinks.

Food was nice but portions were laughable , for example only had 3 tiny potato’s with my sea bass

Prices are extortionate , for example broccoli 4 pounds and 5.60 a pint

Will not be recommending to anyone

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank S9190SHmikej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBPNewport, General Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi MIke,

We’re extremely sorry to hear about your most recent visit to our Bistrot. We always aim to achieve the highest of standards for all our guests and we sincerely apologise that this was not accomplished.
I hope this has not tarnished your view of us and that you give us another try after lockdown.
Thanks for your feedback.
Regards,
Antonio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent covid safety in place. Friendly, helpful staff. Good choices on menu and food extremely good. Never fails to provide great food. Would always recommend.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank CXJ11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBPNewport, General Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hello CXJ11,
Thank you for your kind words and review.
I will pass your kind comments to our staff, We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again.

Kind Regards
Nabeel Al-Sayyar
AGM Bistrot Pierre Newport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 May 2021

Can't fault our meal or service at all.chole was fab! I overheard a couple next to us moan from the moment they walked in, and she dealt with them amazingly!so professional.we had a warm welcome and was told what wasn't available and very appoligetic,was given recommendation which we took and are very grateful for,food was lovely atmosphere was lovely can't recommend this place enough.thank you chole you made our evening.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank 208nicolae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBPNewport, General Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hello 208nicolae
Thank you for your wonderful words.
Chloe is an asset to our team and i will make sure she gets to see your kind words.
We are so happy you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again.

Kind Regards,
Nabeel Al-Sayyar
AGM Newport Bistrot Pierre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistrot Pierre also viewed

Newport, South Wales
 
Magor, Monmouthshire
Newport, South Wales
 

Been to Bistrot Pierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.