We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late lunch”
Review of The Old Boat House

The Old Boat House
Ranked #48 of 326 Restaurants in Anglesey
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had an amazing meal the food was presented so well and good value. We will be returning during our holiday stay to enjoy another meal.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dontra63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (891)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 891 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Unfortunately the service was rubbish.. not attentive at all, had to ask to take our plates away when we had finished!! Waiter slammed our drinks down on the table and couldn’t even be bothered to put our cutlery where we where sitting! Overall the food was lovely just a shame for the awful inattentive service! Felt almost unwelcome !

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank loupowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 May 2021 via mobile

First time back since latest lockdown and well worth the wait. Had the Penang veg curry and wife had the sea bass. Have never had a bad meal here, breakfast, lunch or dinner - even having to sit outside, the patio heaters, blankets, chilled music, views and great friendly service made for a great evening. Already booked ahead for our next meal out. I know you can’t please everyone all of the time but as far as I’m concerned this place has never been anything but 5 stars and is one of the highlights whenever we’re in the area.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank Derjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 April 2021

Visited with my husband this evening. We had the same meal. Creamy tagliatelle with salmon and prawns off the specials board. We were very disappointed. The food was tasteless, undercooked and sticky. There was no offer of compensation or an alternative meal. A very expensive £62.00 for something we did not eat.
Will not be rushing back!!!!

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank annemariea976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 November 2020

We'd sampled excellent coffee and cake at this waterside establishment a number of times before, but last evening saw us there for an evening meal. On reduced opening hours and taking Covid precautions, the restaurant was still popular and booking was essential. The menu offers plenty of variety for both meat eaters and fish enthusiasts and I cannot recommend the Chowder which I had as a starter enough. Creamy and packed with fish it made a beautifully rich first course. Preceded by olives and artisan bread, this was going to be a meal which left us with 'tummy-touching-table'! My wife enjoyed her calamari - beautifully cooked and quite garlicky. Accompanied by a lovely Rioja, we both opted for main courses of smoked haddock fishcakes - it being Friday. We watched rather enviously as steaks trundled past on their way to other tables, but were not disappointed by our choice. Friday was steak night - something to remember for next time.
Accompanied by a nice fresh salad and chunky chips and a splendidly lemony aioli, we struggled to finish. Not to be outdone however, and given the reputation of The Boathouse for baking, I opted for a very naughty banoffee pie, while she sampled the locally sourced ice cream. All in all an excellent meal and we'll most certainly return. The price was very reasonable too - not too much for frequent visits - and the ambience was perfect for a holiday meal as the interior is rather reminiscent of a Mediterranean taverna (at least when it's dark outside).
Thank you!

Date of visit: November 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Martin_Anglesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Boat House also viewed

Anglesey, North Wales
 
Benllech, Anglesey
 

Been to The Old Boat House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.