We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very mediocre”

The Crown and Trumpet Inn
Ranked #16 of 34 Restaurants in Broadway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Situated just behind the village green of Broadway this traditional 17th Century Inn, built in Cotswold stone, providing accommodation with four rooms for Midweek and Weekend breaks. Providing free WiFi service. Serving Lunch and Dinners all through the week using locally produced ingredients to make seasonally cooked home made dishes. Shakespeare's Branch of CAMRA's Pub of the Year 2008-09 and again in 2011-12 The Good Pub Guide's - Value Pub of the Year 2016 Having an open fire in the bar with our own mulled wine and hot toddies in the winter and Pimm's in the summer on our patio. Regular JAZZ and BLUES on Thursday evenings. We are also situated just off The Cotswold Way and it is a wonderful walking area and the Crown and Trumpet Inn is very central for touring Shakespeare's Country, The Cotswold's and Malvern Hills.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice old pub disappointing food. There was a lot of choices on the menu. I ordered a steak pie it was a couple of spoons of beef and thin gravy with a puff top definitely not a proper pie. Vegetables were so undercooked I couldn’t cut them. Had bread & butter pudding for dessert it came very dry with not very much custard. Neither courses were tasty I didn’t enjoy the meal

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DevizesD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (892)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 893 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Taken a long time to get round to this review and too be honest when we went right in the middle of the pandemic it was not the best experience.
Parking a major problem dragging the bags back from a public carpark too far away for me.
Food bang average Faggots and a Steak and Kidney pie. Beer okay Carlsberg was £4.50
Maybe should have just left this review as the owner was obviously under pressure to stay open.

Date of visit: December 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mark w
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Appeared to be a nice pub, sat outside in lovely sunshine with a decent atmosphere. Read generally good reviews, however both myself and my partner were disappointed by the food and also the service (multiple waitresses appeared in a bad mood and not the most polite… maybe just a bad day)

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank ADT1738
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 August 2021

We had pre-dinner drinks here on 3 evenings, making the most of the warm weather we sat outside. Good, prompt friendly service from the young staff members. We also returned on one occasion after dinner to find last orders at 10.00pm. This was the case at most, if not all of the pubs in Broadway.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 August 2021 via mobile

We have been here a couple of times pre/ post walks and always have a lovely experience. Come rain, shine, day or night it’s always great. Very friendly staff and locals. Love it.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Jlch09
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crown and Trumpet Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Crown and Trumpet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.